Atleigh Vnd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bracebridge, Ontario

Kept excesssive amount of deposit

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I signed True North’s Conditions of Sale agreement July 2016. The contract states that if I terminate the contract I forfeit the 10% contract deposit. My package was $233,478 and 10% was more than $23,000.

I submitted my design drawn in excel which should have been easy to follow. There were minimal adjustments for log walls as my design was basic. Whoever does their design work changed closet design and repeatedly failed to place bedroom doors as I wanted (end of wall rather than center of wall). The design could have been completed in about 3 revisions rather than as many as it did.

We had progressed no further than the design stage when I terminated the contract for health reasons and explained that clearly to True North. I’m 71 and worked since I was 15 years old. The money for my log home didn’t come from a lottery or inheritance or any other free source. It was worked for and earned.

I began my request for a refund with True North in September 2017 via email. A November 2017 email response from True North offered to refund $1,118.43 representing the paid amount greater than 10% (should have returned this immediately). The email stated True North retains the initial 10% contract deposit plus any sales commissions paid as a liquidating charge to mitigate administrative, sales, design, and engineering costs it has incurred on behalf of the customer. I responded requesting a breakdown of the expenses as they seem exorbitant. Especially since we only went as far as the design stage.

I realize True North closes for a winter break. I do not know the exact dates for closure, but received an informational email from them during this time so figured they had returned to work. When I did not hear from them I sent an email in January 2018 stating my disappointment and said I would write a detailed explanation of what has occurred for an online review/comments.

True North responded with the following: “Rob Wrightman, our CEO, has read your email and the intention of your slandering True North Log Homes. Ultimately, we will use your email against you in order to protect our reputation.”

I signed the Sales Agreement and legally they can keep my 10% deposit. But I believe their actions are ethically and morally bankrupt. They hold onto my deposit with an iron grip even though they most likely did not incur much of the costs they mention. They are a big company and I’m a small consumer.

Before signing any contract or handing over your deposit these may be factors you want consider.

View full review
Reason of review:
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

Preferred solution: Full refund


• Better Business Bureau Board of Directors did a full investigation and unanimously sided with True North Log Homes showing no validity to the clients claims and closed the file. • True North Log Homes continues to hold an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

• True North Log Homes is sincerely sympathetic to the clients health concerns, however, our staff and subcontractors created 6 Design Revisions, Structural Building Permit Drawings Version 1 & 2, Factory Shop Drawings, Engineering, Inventoried materials purchased, Sales & Project Management services which were completed under our contractual obligation to Cheryl Adamson. • Once these services were completed the contract was immediately cancelled. True North Log Homes was subsequently threatened by Cheryl Adamson that if all monies were not returned she would attempt to slander our reputation online and with the Better Business Bureau in an attempt to cost us more than it would cost to return her funds. True North Log Homes can and will only deal with facts and will not be bullied by a client using a means of media/internet platforms or Better Business Bureau.

• In the interest of good customer relations, True North Log Homes offered and continues to offer to apply all funds against any future purchase for Cheryl Adamson or her immediate family that would like to purchase a log or timber home.

• All supporting documentation that was provided to the Better Business Bureau regarding this matter is available to anyone upon request. True North Log Homes Inc.

reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1579027

All sounds fair to me.

View more comments (1)

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article