Top Secret Paint and Coatings Reviews

Show reviews that mention
top secret paint secret coatings satin finish coating phone business floor money coatings
Filter review

Top Secret Paint and Coatings - Paint Review from Naples, Florida

Used on boat and never really hardened. Will never but again....
View full review
1 comment
#1742330

I think the word you meant to spell is BUY again, not but. Clearly you are in need of a better education. I guess you are another example of public school education at its finest!!

ID
#731757 Review #731757 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Naples, Florida
Reason of review
Bad quality
New Reviewer

Poor quality

We purchased Top Secret for our restaurant. I chose this product believing it was a commercial hard coating. The clear coat is coming up and there is a chemical reaction between the coating and our non stick restaurant shoes, taking the rubber right off our shoes. This product has cost us in shoes, and I am now purchasing a new coating after only 3 months. We are having to shut the restaurant down for repairs, costing us income for 3 days. The product also stinks so bad it took us 2 weeks before we could even open. Do not buy this product. I feel defrauded.
View full review
ID
#576424 Review #576424 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Titusville, Florida
Cons
  • Product
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Product didn't work as advertised, wrong product given at purchase.

This is a long summary of events, but needed to show fault of product and business.   On July 1, 2013, I made a phone call to Top Secret Floor Coatings to obtain information about their product. There were two floor products that would work for my garage floor, but wanted to make sure I selected the correct one. After talking with Matt, I decided to drive to Arlington, WA to get the product I needed, due to my work schedule and the amount of time I had to accomplish this job.  When I arrived, Matt was not there.  I was told by Mike that Matt had left my information and that he would take care of me.  I asked Mike a few questions, told him which product I needed and purchased the flooring product, which was the TS-840 Fast Dry Floor Kit.  I also told Mike that I needed the satin finish.  As I was loading the product in my vehicle, I asked Mike to verify I was getting the satin finish, and he responded yes this is the satin finish.  The satin finish was conveyed at least three times!  There is a code on the top of the lid that indicates satin/gloss, but did not know this at the time.  There is nothing on the label of the can that indicates the sheen.   Maybe they should have some stickers made and place them on the cans!   Over the next week, I prepared my floor per the directions I obtained off the Top Secret coatings web site.  This was not an internet purchase, and there were no directions or warranty information included with my floor kit.    The primer came in silver paint cans with no can claws or labels.   I even called and talked to Matt several times asking him questions about the product and preparations.  The first question I asked was sanding the floor and the best grit to use.  I wanted to make sure that I did everything I could so the outcome of the product came out great.  I also asked about putting down two coats of the primer instead of one.  Matt advised me that this is a one coat application, and two coats is not recommended.  This was conveyed three times.  On the phone prior to purchase, when the purchase took place, and prior to application. There were two of us working on this process.  I followed Matt’s directions on rolling the shortest distance, and made sure that the flakes were down within the five minutes per the directions.  This product dried so fast, that I could not get from the back of the garage to the front before it dried. (~25’)  Time from front to back was under three minutes.  I even had a hard time getting the flakes to stick, and had to have the other worker on top of me putting down the chips as I painted to get them to stick.  When I finished, you could see every place I started and stopped with the roller.  The floor looked like a child painted it, and I've seen children paint better than this. I called Matt and advised him of what happen.  He asked me to take pictures of the garage floor and email them to him.  He also said that the tech rep would be in that day and they would look at the pictures and come up with a plan to fix the mess.  Matt called me back and told me that it looked like I dried rolled the floor.  I told Matt that the floor was not dried rolled.  In fact the amount of paint I had left over, which was about a quart, would be about right for the square footage of my garage.  I told Matt that I have done a lot of professional painting and that this floor was not dry rolled.  I also told him that this primer dried to fast and that the temperature and conditions were perfect for having plenty of time to roll.  Matt did state in his letter that I purchased a fast dry product.  Not true!  The product states that this is a fast dry product that can be put down in a day.  There is nothing in the directions that state, this product dries in minutes!  Matt told me that a second coat would be required and that he would sell me the primer at half price.  I asked him to reconsider charging me for the additional product because I was told that only one coat would be required, and there is nothing on the web site that states two coats might be required under certain situations.   Matt said there was nothing he could do, and arranged for me to pick the product up at an off site location.  Had no choice but to pay for the additional primer to get the job done.   When I picked up the primer, I asked about slowing down the drying time of the TS-4985 primer, and they suggested using a slowing agent to allow more time for application.  I called Matt and asked him about what I should use.  He told me that the tech rep said not to add anything to this product since this was the second coat, and that I should have plenty of time for application.  I applied the second coat of primer and it was like watching ground hog day over and over.  I had about 42 more seconds to get the product down and the chips as well.  In fact the chips were extremely hard to cover evenly with the time you had from one pass to the next.  I was very careful not to overlap or dry roll.  This was impossible to prevent.  The product dried so fast and not enough time to adequately spread the chips evenly.  It didn't look as bad as the first coat, but the additional chips helped cover up some of the roller marks.  You could still see every roller mark, but worked faster to avoid overlapping and dry rolling.  I even started about two feet from where I ended and rolled to where I finished which worked very well to feather in the roller marks due to the dry time.  As for the overlapping, there was nothing I could do to prevent the roller from touching where you had just rolled and cover the floor evenly.   I have done a lot of  professional painting and you cannot avoid roller marks if the paint/primer you are using dries this fast, this is why you use two coats to give you more time on the second coat due to paint absorption.   Per the manufactures instructions, the TS-66 Supreme Urethane clear coat was rolled as well.  This product was not as difficult to apply, but did leave a few overlapping marks.  The instructions say to avoid heavy build up, but I have found the slightest overlapping will show up after product dries. The urethane was very glossy after application, but wasn't sure if the glossy appearance goes away after drying. The following monday, I called Matt and advised him about the second coat and how glossy the urethane was.  He said in a few days the sheen will be satin.  I told him I didn't think this would happen but we will see.  I then asked how do you know whether the product was satin or gloss finish because there is nothing on the can to tell you which sheen it is.  He said the top of the can has a number on it which tells them what the sheen is in the can.  When I retrieved the number off the can, we determined that the product was a gloss finish (1515/7963). I also asked him if they had reconsidered charging me for the additional primer and he said that there was nothing he could do. I told Matt that I would think about the mistake they made on the gloss finish and call him back.  I called back to talk about the next plan of action.  Matt said they would give me the satin product at their cost but would not cover the labor.  I told Matt it would be at least two weeks or more before I could redo the floor.  Because of the two weeks, he said I would have to rebuff the entire floor for the urethane to adhere.  Knowing how they handle their warranty or rather their corporate policy, taking the chance on damaging the paint chips or the urethane not adhering, was not an option I felt  comfortable with.   Their canned response to warranty issues is you didn't follow the directions.   I requested a refund for the product  since the product I purchased was the wrong sheen and would require to much additional time to redo.  I also told Matt that they should come up with a better idea on marking the cans, like making decals that say SATIN or GLOSS.  He then said "or we could have given you the correct product. "  There’s a concept!  During our last conversation, we both decided that it was best that he have the owner Peter Harrett call me back to resolve this issue. Mr. Harrett never called back, which was a very poor business decision!    Several days later a box showed up from  Top Secret Coatings, which is probably the urethane, and a day later a letter from Matt explaining their Corporate policy.    They do not stand behind their product!   Instead, they find ways to show that you failed to follow the directions which voids the warranty.   They determined I dried rolled the product, when in fact there might be another reason this product went down the way it did, but their arrogance has stood in the way.  Yes, they did sell me additional product at a reduced price to fix the primer problem.  I had to spend two additional days to fix the primer issue, but it was not my mistake they gave me a gloss instead of the satin finish that I requested several times.  Their corporate policy states it is my responsibility to make sure I received the correct product.  How is this possible if they didn't mark the product correctly!  In order to redo the satin coating,  it would require an additional two days of my time.  If for some reason the product didn't adhere for any reason, they will say they can't honor the warranty because I didn't follow the directions that they didn't  provide when I purchased from day one.  As a consumer I did what was expected of me and more, including purchasing additional primer at my cost.   They failed to give me the correct product I asked for,  and there was no way of knowing the urethane was gloss not satin other than a verbal acknowledgment.  I gave up two additional days of labor to fix a problem they said I caused. They must share their responsibility as a business for their mistake and refund the purchase price paid.  They failed to sell me the product I requested.  Beware of this product!  It is a fast drying product that should be sprayed not rolled.  If a product dries this fast without adequate working time, then maybe they need to state this in the directions.  All the directions state is that you have five minutes to place paint chips or they may not stick. Having done a lot of professional painting, there would be no way a novice painter could roll this product with good results.  If you are not a professional, do not use this product!
View full review
1 comment
#702106

Update on product 07-18-13. It has been one month since the product was used.

The vehicle was parked in garage after it had rained. The next morning when the car was pulled out of the garage, the floor is now coming up.

ID
#440476 Review #440476 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1230

Dye lots don't match

We purchased 2 gal of deck paint (at over $100/gal incl. shipping) in Nov of '11. Because we put an addition on to our deck, we purchased 2 more gal in March of '13. This was a standard color...but the colors do not match. Now we have to repaint the entire "old" section and do not have enough to do so. I have called and emailed regarding the situation. Both have been ignored. When I called, I got a non-professional recording saying I could leave a message, but they were in the process of moving their business so didn't know when they could return phone calls. What a horrible way to do business!! My husband and I are definitely wishing we'd just spent $35/gal at Home Depot on paint we have to redo every 3 years, than to deal with a business like this. My luck, if I ordered another gallon of this TS paint, it would be yet a 3rd shade of Dk Brown. Buy your paint somewhere else!!
View full review
5 comments
#951920

This is the most moronic post ever, 2 years of uv exposure and you expect paint to match. Lmfao you are in *** keep buying your paint from HD you do not deserve to use this quality of a product.

#1672438
@PissedConsumer951920

Paint will always fade and change color in the sun and repainting every few years is normal on a deck. If you buy the cheap stuff at the big box store you may have to repaint more often than that. $100 a gallon is not overpriced if it’s a good quality product and lasts twice as long as the cheap stuff.

#880947

Really? Go to Lowes or Home Depot and read the labels on several gallon cans (or 5 gallon pails).

I'll bet you find the suggestion to pour them back and forth to equalize the paint color shades. Hmm. At least that's what professional painters do.

Next, two years of sunlight exposure and weathering and you are expecting there to be no change in color?

Find me a paint that doesn't have a color shift after two years of sunlight exposure. I don't think one exisits.

#708731

Thank you. We will not purchase anything from this place.

#704360

I have had many issues too, and I wish I would have read your complaint before I spent over a thousand dollars for a product that did not work as advertised. They really need to get their business under control and take care of the customer. I wonder if Peter knows what is going on at the business he is in charge of.

View more comments (4)
ID
#412965 Review #412965 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Loss
$450
New Reviewer

Top Secret Epoxy Color Misrepresented

I purchased Top Secret TS-66 epoxy and TS-664 primer. The epoxy color was based upon the company's online representation. We were using a new HP PC and new flat screen monitor. The color we ordered and that which we received were completely different. Our application was far from our home, our hunting camp in the middle of MI's U.P., and the material arrived shortly before we went up there. The schedule for the effort to empty the camp, clear the floor, and apply the epoxy was coordinated among several people. Long story short: it was too late to return the epoxy and experience what could have been several shipments/returns to get the color correct. The LEAST the company could have done afterward is give us a significant discount. Instead they refused to a thing. I advise you not to use Top Secret products.
View full review
3 comments
#880944

Relying on a computer screen to evaluate and select a color goes against every warning I have ever read against doing just that. If your monitor isn't a color calibrated graphics specific monitor, it doesn't matter how new it is, you will not see the color 100% accurately.

Go to any paint or ink web site (such as Sherwin Williams or Dutch Boy, or Rustoleum) or even artist paints and you will see just such warnings

It is ludicrous to blame the manufacturer for you, the customer, making such an error.

#881150
@PissedConsumer880944

Of course it's not ludicrous for me to make a judgment based upon what they show online. It is the only representation I have of their product and it is entirely possible for them to represent their colors accurately online.

If they believe that they cannot present their product accurately online they should not do so - they would knowingly be misleading. Please get up to date on current technology - we are well into the 21st century! Furthermore, I have no local site for them to visit.

I ordered from CA and I am in WI.

I suspect you work for the vendor. Come on now - 'fess up!

#1002308
@PissedConsumer881150

Actually Joe, he is right. I own a Ben Moore Paint store and have worked in the industry for almost 25 years.

Your computer screen will not work. However, you are absolutely right about the misrepresentation of their products in their marketing. I only sell technical coatings to trained professionals. I am actually surprised Top Secret is still in business.

They approached me a few years ago to be a dealer.

. .no thanks!

View more comments (2)
ID
#393797 Review #393797 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Menasha, Wisconsin
Loss
$364
New Reviewer

Top Secret Coatings Complaints must be legitimate

I called Top Secret Coatings and discussed in detail that i wanted a top grade concrete non skid coating that would cover minor cracks and be durable enough to withstand heavy traffic. The salesman recommended their epoxy TS-95. They sold me a thin water based latex that took 3 coats to keep the concrete from bleeding through an never even fille minor hairline cracks . After I bought the product I checked online and found many of the same complaints about this company doing the same thing to others. They charged me 10 times what my father in law paid at Home Depot for a better product.
View full review
2 comments
#1002314

Coatings will not fill cracks as the liquid will fall through. And, sounds like their prep instructions are not adequate.

Usually we acid etch or shot blast a floor for a sufficient anchor profile. Scarification is okay but normally too expensive and labor instensive.

Get a professional to write a specification; that would certainly help. Good luck!

#704364

I used the TS-840 system and it took two coats when I was told one would do. They also gave me the wrong product which will require a lot of prep to redo.

Now my floor is coming up. I followed the directions and called and talked with Matt who assured me I had done everything right. Now they are saying I didn't follow the directions. Not true..

Go to Costco and buy the Rino two part apoxy, and I know if you have any issues, Costco will refund your money. Do not use anything this company sells, they do not warranty their products.

View more comments (1)
ID
#335544 Review #335544 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Beaumont, Texas
Loss
$1200
New Reviewer

A coatings issue

I have a large building and i painted over 5k square feet. It started falling off after i spent big bucks on the coatings. Peter Harrett, the active manager there asked me if i tested the moisture before painting it? I didn't but a paint should still work shouldn't it? Then he asked what i cleaned the floor with. My crew swept it. He said i should have washed it and used one of the cleaners he recommended. Now i am very upset, two things i didn't do. Did i just lose my money not installing this product right? I am very upset. Peter is suppose to call me back. I picked up the paint two weeks ago. It was a nice plant, nice office waiting area and it all the people i meet seemed like good people. I just feel like i shouldn't tried to install this with our crew, either way it's a lot of money to lose.
View full review
7 comments
#912913

It's simple, read the directions on their website, on the cans, on everything they print. This is not the manufacturers fault or financial responsibility.

#381909

I bought a complete mono epoxy kit from Top Secret Coatings, I followed the instructions perfectly. I washed the floor, made sure it was extemely clean, etched it, dried it, confirmed dryness, I put down the first coat and let it cure for 48 hours as per supplied instructions, I applied the clear coat and it did almost a curdling effect on the paint.

It looks horrible. The clear coat did not go on smooth and now you can see every roller mark in the floor. TSC has told me that I received old instructions and that the new instructions have different curing times. I am severly disappointed.

I asked for a refund and I received nothing. They offered to send new product and then never did. The thing is, this is their screw up not mine, I ended up having to put in new flooring at my expense to keep the project on schedule. I highly recommend NOT purchasing from this company.

To Top Secret Coatings STAND BEHIND THE PRODUCTS YOU SELL!!! I am in business too and when I have to cover mistakes like this it hurts my bottom line NOT YOURS.

And to top it all off, their 600sqft kit includes clearcoat that is rated for a max of 500sqft. It said so right on the can.

#381907

I bought a complete mono epoxy kit from Top Secret Coatings, I followed the instructions perfectly. I washed the floor, made sure it was extemely clean, etched it, dried it, I put down the first coat and let it cure for 48 hours as per supplied instructions, I applied the clear coat and it did almost a curdling effect on the paint.

It looks horrible. The clear coat did not go on smooth and now you can see every roller mark in the floor. TSC has told me that I received old instructions and that the new instructions have different curing times. I am severly disappointed.

I asked for a refund and I received nothing. They offered to send new product and then never did. The thing is, this is their screw up not mine, I ended up having to put in new flooring at my expense to keep the project on schedule. I highly recommend NOT purchasing from this company.

To Top Secret Coatings STAND BEHIND THE PRODUCT YOUR SELL!!! I am in business too and when I have to cover mistakes like this it hurts my bottom line NOT YOURS.

And to top is all off, their 600sqft kit includes clearcoat that is rated for a max of 500sqft. It said so right on the can.

#360330

8) I'm good thank you all. Hey thanks for stepping up and helping me fix it.

Really appreciate the help.

See soon, and the beer is on me afterwords. Thanks!

#360321

I am sorry you had such a bad problem with your floor application. Grease and oil must be thoroughly removed before the application of any liquid applied floor coating!

I wish your crew had followed the advice we offered! Meanwhile this is a big job and we don't want anyone to have a bad experience so even though the floor wasn’t prepared properly and the coating was miss-applied we want to help as best we can. I suggest allowing us to replace the material for you at half price and let our people strip the floor to bare concrete, remove the grease and oil present, and redo it for you without any added cost. I hope that works for you.

Let me know ASAP.

Thank you. Peter Harrett, Top secret Coatings Inc..

#360264

I feel really bad now. I posted this and then talked to Ron, then Mike, then Peter.

All of them were very nice. I understand i messed up the job. Peter is sending a crew to come out and redo the job i messed up for cost. :) The thing is my original bids were far more than what this is costing me so i am very happy.

They stepped up, and are doing what is right to make this right. This is a good company. They do floor coating installations for about 1.00/sqft per coat which is excellent for floors over 10k square feet anywhere in the country.

Thanks you guys!!! :)

#954053
@PissedConsumer360264

People get screwed all time, but I gotta tell ya, to see you acknowledge that this company is really trying to help you even after all you've been through, makes you of a giant person in my book..... with a conscience.

I came to this forum because I'm looking for paint to customize bird baths with.

You may have just sold this company a new business account. Anyway, in case no one else has told, thank you for handling your situation with honesty and integrity.

View more comments (6)
ID
#268690 Review #268690 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Arlington, Washington
Loss
$8500

This co will not honor their warrenty..Its the customers fault for any problem with the paint

This 10 year maintenance free service is bull. Every thing from the start was bad. The paint pealed and chipped I was told it was moisture. I had a professional do the job. and did all the tests they asked but they still refuse to admit its the paint that is the problem. They were sent pictures and they still denied it was a paint problem. At first they answered my email but not any more. I refuse to do any more tests they say I need to do as I am disabled and must pay for them. Do not do business with this co. Your just spending big money for worthless paint.
View full review
2 comments
#360350

I love Top Secret Coatings company and its products. I messed up on a job and they showed up to make it right. How is that not standing by their warranty?

#360343

My experience with Top Secret Coatings, is i misapplied Aquapoxy 2 my not cleaning te floor properly. I was so distraught over spending so much and messing it up.

I talked to three guys there, they were all helpful and very nice. They offered to clean, repair the concrete that i overlooked, and repaint it for me. I really appreciated that. I was so upset and i never expected them to go out of their way like this.

They are a good company. The product when applied right, looks amazing.

View more comments (1)
ID
#207505 Review #207505 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado

Top secret Coatings Bad to do bussinees with

Spent nearly 3000.00 dollars with them nothing but problems all the way miss ship, wrong product shipped, won't return phone calls, hung up on me,had product failure one of the gallons of paint set up before I could even get it applied . and of course its my fault,I have been invovled in the building trades for 35 years used epoxy, enamel, latex, automotive paints,you name it don't expect support or warranty from these guys once they have your money. Because of these problems our bussines was but on hold for 3 weeks Peter Harret who is one of the owners will take no responsiblity , Kevin Beno American Rent All LLC THompson CT. Posted Nov. 24 2009
View full review
13 comments
#794178

I also used revolution for my boat. As long as the instructions are followed this is the easiest boat paint to apply, I'm surprised anyone could have problems with it, my boat looks brand new, the paint is so glossy and smooth it is actually saving me money on the gas!! Thanks for the great products!

#483676

I have to accept Mr Benos coments as true, since I have been treated in much the same way.I bought Revolution for my boat and wasted all the hard labor on prep when I put that *** on the boat. I have painted all kinds of paint for years and I beleave that is nothing but enamel.They took nine days to ship, forgot the super primer @ $46.00 pr.

gal. and told me just to use mineral spirits after warning not to substitute. When calling the tech.

dept.it seems like anybody that answered the phone was a tech rep. and had no answers.They also don't return calls, I'm sure because of no answers.The paint was suposed to get hard in ten days, after two months it was still soft enough the lift straps left four big lines on the hull.It was a totaly sorry experance dealing with this off the wall company.At least the B B B is doing their job well.

#483675

I have to accept Mr Benos coments as true, since I have been treated in much the same way.I bought Revolution for my boat and wasted all the hard labor on prep when I put that *** on the boat. I have painted all kinds of paint for years and I beleave that is nothing but enamel.They took nine days to ship, forgot the super primer @ $46.00 pr.

gal. and told me just to use mineral spirits after warning not to substitute. When calling the tech.

dept.it seems like anybody that answered the phone was a tech rep. and had no answers.They also don't return calls, I'm sure because of no answers.The paint was suposed to get hard in ten days, after two months it was still soft enough the lift straps left four big lines on the hull.It was a totaly sorry experance dealing with this off the wall company.At least the B B B is doing their job well.

#360334

These guys are great, don't paint a dirty floor and you won't have problems. I did, it was my fault, and now they are showing up and helping me fix it.

I admit, my mistake, it's a great product and great company! Thanks Top Secret Coatings, your new Aquopoxy 2 rocks!!!

#305621

I bought the Chlorinated Alkyd paint, Primer & Seal-it for our swimming pool. We followed all the directions for cleaning, priming, etc.

Two (2) days after the water was put in the pool, the paint started to peel off. We have been incontact with them,(phone calls, e-mails) with no results. 5 year guaranty?, I don't think so..

All I want is a refund of the $ spent. es

#240604

Good product, great company. I have had zero problems.

#144751

I was looking up Top Secret Coatings and thought WTF? No way, these guys are great.

I had three guys help me there, re-ordering for my commercial floor. The first time my guys laid the paint over a floor that wasn't cleaned right, and i had problems, but then Peter walked how to clean it off and stressed the importance of the floor being clean. After i made sure it was cleaned we repainted the small area and it looked amazing and it's tough. Our fork lift has been running back and forth on it all day and there hasn't been any scratches or chipping.

I re-ordered for my own home garage to, but i used the aquapoxy coatings system, and it worked really well. My wife wanted to make sure the products we use around our place our environmentally friendly, i personally don't care but the floor needs to be done right.

It worked good, also another great product, and i have had nothing but good experiences dealing with this company. I think websites like this that bring out all the jerks are shameful.

#140802

I have previosly posted my dealings with Top Secrect Coatings. As a update the coatings I applied at the direction of Peter Harret have failed six months after applying,coatings did not adhere.$3000.00 dollars and weeks of work for 3 men down the drain.They would not make good for a verifiable mistake on there part therfore I am not even going to waste my time trying to collect on there Bogas warranty."Beware" if you purchase out of state on the internet you will have no recourse,Buy from reputable company local if possible

#114664

After a tremendous amount of research;

I have been in the specialty coatings business for about 35 years, I chose top secret when we were contracted to restore a pool for a very important client. While there was an acceptable delay in receiving the order, Peter Harrett was a pleasure to do business with. I would not hesitate to recommend his firm to any of my best clients.

#103632

I think Top secret coatings is a two bit company with a web site operating on a shoe string,I was never abusive and do not use foul langage ,You just don't want to stand behind your product,rather you would try to malign me and make excuses ,thats why BBB gives you a D+ rating,MY fault for not checking you out. I shipped back product that was the wrong color (your fault) and you charged me 50% restocking fee.What A guy

I will stay with Sherwin Wiliams or Pittsbugh Paint they are reputable and will stand behind the product.

Kevin Beno American Rent All LLC

View more comments (12)
ID
#162756 Review #162756 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Loss
$3000
New Reviewer

Top Secret Paint does not stand behind product

Top Secret Paint and Coatings - Top Secret Paint does not stand behind product
We applied an epoxy protective coating to the floor of an art studio and spent considerable phone time with the company getting all the instructions and list of products to do this properly. Before the contractor ordered the products, he too spoke to the tech department to make sure he knew everything he needed to know about the product. About twenty days after application, the color started coming off. We called and were now told that there was a "hardener" that should also have been applied. No one in multiple conversations ever mentioned anything about a hardener (which on website is labeled optional for use if heavy objects might be on the surface e.g. cars). We had to redo the job and when we asked for the products (not the labor) to be comped, they refused--denying any responsibility whatsoever. PLEASE be warned that this company will not stand by its products and has extremely rude customer service (they hung up on me when I suggested they should consider refunding the replacement products I was forced to purchase). Once they have your money, they consider the business relationship over.
View full review
16 comments
#709407

Do not waste your money on this product. 13 months ago I completely stripped and used a diamond grinder on my garage floor.

I installed Top Secret coating and their clear top coat. After waiting 10 days I pulled my cars in and the clear top coat peeled off. They sent their Chemist to inspect the floor and his comments were: 1. I did an excellent job of prepping the floor 2.

There was something wrong with the clear coat, possibly a bad batch etc and that they would "take care" of it. He tried 2 different coating. He finally found a sample that appears to stay down and is holding.

Now I can't get a response from them. It has been 13 months and still no resolution.

#505921

i just looked at the reviews on top secret coatings and awaiting the arrival of 1200 dollars worth of this stuff for use on my concrete..i hope its not a disaster i will let u know i am scared to put it down now.. hope its not latex paint and some sand for aggregate :eek

#504800

I have nothing good to say about Top Secret Coatings marine paints. After following the instructions to a T, my paint will not adhere.

I have called the company,mailed a sample to them over 6 weeks ago with a promise to have the "chemist" look at it get back to me, and have heard nothing.

I spent over $500 on paint with them, and must grind it all off and do something else. Great website., *** product and horrible follow up

#392749

I bought this paint to it says it will be the last ever use a paid over $800 for this I'd definitely wouldn't recommend I rented the machine from Home Depot rock the concrete to original put all their chemicals very very unhappy

#360338

Top Secret Coatings does stand by their product. I found the staff amazing.

I messed up my large commercial floor and they went out of their way to help me. They offer huge floor coating installations for about a dollar a square foot per coat. I messed up my floor, tried to paint it without being cleaned right, they showed up to help me repaint it right and fix it. This is a good company.

Thanks guys for your help... i will be using Top Secret Coatings again!

#240558

My son works for this company. They are a great company.

I know for a fact they go out of there way to make there customers happy from what my son says. He works in the warehouse where they manufacture and ship the product out. It is a good company that makes products here. According to my son the only reason they ever have problems with customers is when they don't use the testing kits.

He says about 1 percent of people who buy there products from TSC are because they didn't clean right. I guess you people posting these nasty things didn't do right by reading the instrutions.

But what is wrong with Pissed consumer to post a competitors mean spirited remarks. I love this company, they have given my uneducated son an good wage and life.

#1419262
@PissedConsumer240558

LMAO!

#240542

I used Top Secret Coatings floor coat system on our commercial job. I am pissed at these reviews, look Peter and his assistant came down and showed me how to use the moisture kit before i started the job.

Then he had me send it in, we got it back within a week... so we had to re clean it and then he came down again and even helped out with the job. He was an awesome guy, and Top Secret Coatings rocks. I needed some more material so i headed down and showed up and they made it right there.

No problems. I used a lot of other products like rustoleum and some floor coat paint that fell off.

I am guessing most these guys don't know how to paint floor coatings. I like this company, they even made me a latte why i waited for them to finish mixing the product.

#209523

We have been fighting the fraud behind top secret coatings for many years. They make nothing!

They buy paint and other coatings from other companies, re-can and re-label and often sell products that have no basis for the application.

This man knows nothing about chemistry or paint , and they are NOT suppliers to the government, they do not make any government or military spec coatings or paints. They have infringed on our trademarks, plagerized or DATA sheets and wind up selling house paint to unsuspecting consumers.Talk about giving an entire industry a bad name!

#763989
@PissedConsumer209523

This is an odd statement from someone who buys their paint from China, and doesn't even have a storefront. Jim, a one-time customer

View more comments (15)
ID
#152140 Review #152140 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California
Loss
$291

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article