Riverside Veterinary Clinic - Review in Animal Services category from Austin, Texas

*** You are being ridiculous. So someone didnt explain their vaccine visit policy to your liking... maybe you could have asked more questions. You had to wait bc they are super busy. All the time. Because they love animals so much and cram as many appts in as they can in a day and NEVER take breaks. The staff is efficient and Dr. Meyer is a saint... if you want time with him you must schedule it. He is one of very few vets in town that work not-for-profit often, saving and fixing strays and ferralls. Think about what you are accusing them of with those words... all just bc you were put on hold. Shame on you.
View full review
ID
#929135 Review #929135 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Texas
Reason of review
Good customer service
New Reviewer

Great Vet, Worst Staff Ever

I had this EXACT same issue with my dog who has a skin condition. The vet is NOT the one who sees the animals for 'check-ups' it's their not-nice-ever vet assistant. She did a skin scrape, which has been done a MILLION times to my dog, only to tell me what I already know, that it's NOTHING a skin scrape can detect, and to have a nice day. They wanted to inject my dog with steroids and antibiotics that cost a fortune and do not help nor fix the issues at all. My dog wasn't even a year old yet and has already received 7 steroid injections, eventually her organs will shut down if she keeps getting these injections, so I said please do not give her ANY injections. I wanted to speak to the vet as just LOOKING at my dog does not tell you whether the shampoo, food change, etc. has done anything esp since it isn't the vet re-visiting with her in the first place. The woman at the front desk went in the back to tell the 'assistant' my request and myself & EVERYONE else in the front room could hear her big mouth say 'WELL THEN WHAT THE **** DOES SHE WANT ME TO DO WITH THE DOG?! STARE AT IT?!' I drove 40 minutes to this location, had I of known I wasn't going to see the vet for a 're-check' he INSISTED on, I wouldn't of wasted my time or money. The place stinks. The vet is a gem, but his staff SUCK, and their hours are DUMB - who closes on Thursday?! How RANDOM. I will NEVER return, nor will I EVER allow anyone to even consider this place.
View full review
ID
#565563 Review #565563 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Texas
Pros
  • Products offered
  • Vet
Cons
  • Lack of explanation
  • Prices
  • Office
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$90
New Reviewer

Riverside Vet clinic, Austin, Texas-HORRIBLE

FIRST: EXPECT to be on hold at least 10 minutes any time you call. SECOND: EXPECT that when you go in , despite several receptionists chatting, you will be ignored THIRD: SURPRISE! You can't go with your pet to see the Dr. YES! Super *** After waiting 2 weeks and 15 minutes there I'm told that I am NOT allowed in the back with my pet. It seems that to see the actual Dr. you have to schedule between certain times in the morning. Ok, so when I explained that I am not ok with this, that I have waited a long time for the appt., that I was not told anything about this I get a "sorry , it should have been explained but we can't help you and a new appt. will be weeks away." So I leave and decide I'll call when I calm down. When I called and explained what happened I get the excuse of "we could not have made an exception, we had 20 animals to vaccinate!". I'm still confused since there was only myself and two others in the waiting room. My main question....is the Vet there? Is he the one vaccinating the animals- I hope there is not any possibility that a technician is doing the vaccines! I was told that no, its done by the Dr. but there are simply no exceptions for appts.. WOW! HORRIBLE, I feel that no matter how nice I was trying to be and make this place work for me I was treated like *** again and again. AVOID THIS PLACE......not being able to see the actual DR. and a Dr. not wanting to meet his clients or worse yet- speak to a client who has a complaint- JUST PLAIN BAD, BAD MEDICINE, BAD BUSINESS!!!
View full review
5 comments
#1345231

Very sorry to hear about your experience. Hank Meyers has been our vet as long as we've been in Austin (30 years) and we adore him and his staff.

#918384

Doc is fabulous, if you have a sick animal he will make sure that your animal is seen that day. My dachshund has been his patient for 12 years!

I guarantee he puts his hands on each animal diagnosed in his clinic. The clinic is busy and you have to wait because they are the BEST in town.

#783984

I am betting that someone else besides a Vet is taking care of the animals.

#771116

I also did not have that problem. They are very busy for a reason.

The vet is awesome. He is the nicest one I have encountered and genuinely cares for each animal that he treats.

He also sends his expired animal meds to 3rd world countries so that they are also able to treat animals there. Everyone I have referred to him loves him as well.

#763353

Wow. I had a completely different experience here.

They explained up front that the reason they can offer the (extremely) reasonable fees (in comparison to other local vets) is that they have pets dropped off for the day so they can see and attend to them one by one without the additional time needed to interact with the owners unless it is required. I've met the vet and he is super nice and compassionate if a little shy.

They have worked wonderfully with me and my pet. If I hadn't found them I would have probably been forced to euthanize her earlier than was necessary.

View more comments (4)
ID
#330488 Review #330488 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Texas

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article