New Reviewer

Coast Spas - Defective Cover for Mirage Curve Largest Spa they sell

I purchased this spa, paid in full,I was so excited bought the largest one with all the features, I have a chronice back and shoulder issue so I was hoping to use this all year round to combat and ease my pain as they promised it would and it is built for winter use where i live in a cold climate. Delivery was horrible, I had to arrange and direct the crew on the crane delivery they were amateurs horrible experience they never helped me set it up at all. I had to figure everything out myself. The Mirage spa is on a slope, the cover gathers water in the middle and freexes during winter and myself being 51" small woman could not open it all winter to use as the ice gathered to 2" in the middle. The cover filled with water when it thaws and still cannot lift. Spring came and I had to puncture it to drain the water, i have video. I requested a RESDESIGNED COVER as this type does not work. They sent another one, same design it was the same. Requested another cover, same design they showed on paper, they do NOT LISTEN DO NOT CARE AND International Pools and Spas in Barrie ON Canada are the same they blame eachother and do not SERVICE THEIR CUSTOMERS. i had an LED Light out since I bought it, over 2 years later they came to fix it and did not finish the job, they were to come back and blow more insulation as it needs this for warranty and still have not after requesting 3 times. I have contacted Patricia CEO of Coast Spas and she never replies and ignores customer complaints. DO NOT PURCHASE a Coast Spa they will not service their products and this is a big part of having a HOT tub /Spa. I am suffering with my back all winter and they do not care about a persons physical health either sicne I have told them this many times, so they do not care about PEOPLE IN GENERAL they are only interested in taking your money. Patricia: I have not heard back on my request of last week see below. ,. See attached video taken today as it is raining and the water pools in the middle and does not drain, each cover you have sent does this no matter the said changes you made, a NEW DESIGN is needed someone in your company knows HOW WATER CIRCULATES and flows, hence you hot tub designs , SO SURELY YOU CAN DEVELOP A COVER TO DRAIN PROPERLY!!! I have sent countless pictures, videos the first cover on how much water it took on and it was extreme and I could not even lift the cover all winter and spring so lost 8 months the first year of use of the hot tub. This video and all documentation are recorded and soon as you have not answered me I have to take other avenues and actions if I do not hear back from you today. If you send me an email today ASAP to fix the problem it would be to your benefit. Patricia: A more proactive approach for your company is to have a couple of these covers designed and tested on the Coast Mirage models for the drainage customers are asking for n cold weather cimates you recommend these Spas for, instead of the off the cuff – try this it should work approach and use your Research and Develop funds to pay for this so you know it works for your spas, then you would not be in this situation as I see online you have this problem in other cold weather climates from the comments I have received in Norway and Europe. Jean Turriff Patricia: Due to all the time, trouble and non use of my spa FOR 3 WINTERS OR MORE, and the negligence on Coast Spas/International Pools and Spa this cover should be under warranty and provided no charge due to your lack of design adjustments that I HAVE ASKED FOR SINCE THE FIRST REPLACEMENT COVER WAS SENT TO ME. I HAVE THE EMAIL TRAILS and requests and NO one at Coast Spas or Interpools reviewed them properly and just sent whatever they felt would be ok and the last cover I was told would be redesigned for the winters here in Barrie as promised and is still under warranty since I received it in May of this year. YOU ADVERTISE THE SPAS AS ALL YEAR ROUND EVEN IN COLD WEATHER SO YOU NEED TO HONOUR THESE PROMISES, I HAVE YET A WINTER TO USE MY SPA AS DOCUMENTED TO YOU AS PRESIDENT. ALSO IT HAS DETERIIATED MY HEALTH AS I PURCHASED THIS SPA FOR MY BACK AND JOINT ISSUES AND I AM SUFFERING GREATLY WITHOUT THE USE OF THIS SPA . SHOULD I SEND YOU MY CHIROPRACTOR/MASSAGE THERARPY COSTST? THEY ARE OVER THE AMOUNT OF THE COST OF THIS COVER!!!! Also what about the insulation for the LED Replacement? EVERY TIME I SEND AN EMAIL THE WHOLE ISSUES ARE NOT ADDRESSED, THIS LED WAS OUT ONE MONTH AFTER I GOT THE TUB AND WAS NEVER FIXED UNTIL A MONTH AGO. Please confirm this will be sent N/C and confirm this redesign will work 100%, see my comments and concerns below, this has to be engineered properly and send me a drawing on how this would work to confirm . Jean Turriff Jean Turriff -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: Jean Turriff [mailto:jturriff@***.com] Sent: Tuesday, September 24, 2019 10:21 AM To: jeturf@***.ca Subject: Pooling water in cover turns to ice in winter cannot use hot tub in winter
View full review
3 comments
#1990297

Hello, I also have a coast spa mirage. I had the exact same problem that you are describing.

I called my dealer out and they explained to me, that I was suppose to separate the front cover from the back two panels. That's why it has a velcro seam. When separate the front portion you are suppose just set it beside the spa and then when you are done you are suppose to lift it back on to the spa and reconnect the front portion to back cover portion with the velcro. The first problem is that all the water runs into the spa when you separate the cover, unless you want to dry up all the water that collects at the seam every time you use.

You might think that getting an hydraulic lift to aid you in lifting the cover would eliminate the problems. Nope, you still have to take the front cover off, because if you lift all three sections over time the lift bar will break. The reason is bacuase all three sections is to heavy for the lift bar to hold up the cover.

I have the went trough three in two years. The design of the lifts are not to fault, it is the material they use is just not strong enough.

#1883104

I bought my Mirage in summer 2019 and I have the same issue with the cover. I hate the cover.

It’s so heavy and impossible to lift it up by one person.

Have they responded to you with any information or proposals yet? Thank you!

#1883237
@Anonymous

Hi: I have been going through this for 3 years now, I am supposed to get another new cover but nothing shipped to me as yet, was promised a few months ago, Email me your contact info and I can share more, jeturf@***.ca

View more comments (2)
ID
#1673615 Review #1673615 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Solis Spa Covers Hot Tub Cover
Pros
  • Using hot tub
Cons
  • Service and cost of repairs
  • Poor quality
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$25000
Preferred solution
New cover that works
New Reviewer

John L Schultz - Products fail and cost consumers money to repair

I had 3 Frost Free Valves from Aqua Dynamics installed in my home and was told they would never fail by my contractor. Jan 13th the hotwater valve failed and as a result my water was running for almost 15hrs straight out back without my knowledge. I called teh Hot water rental people, who said water was running and we went outside, I had no hot water in my house due to this. I only found this out when I went outside to shovel and found an ice rink in my backyard. I had to cancel family plans that day due to this horrible issue. Then I got a letter from the City saying I am using too much water............. On Jan 19, again i went out to clear the snow and found the cold water valve running. I could not shut this off, I had to call a plumber and he replaced the whole valve. He then told me I should have a shut off inside and he could not do it then. I called a contractor the next day who had to cut into my drywall find he lines put in access panels which are ugly and install the valves and patch everything up. The total cost of just repairs are $1143.00 I have not received all the gas and water bills but they will be in the $500.00 range. I called the company spoke to Nancy who put me on to Hinda who said she wished I called earlier they provide the inserts that fail no charge and she could not cover my costs. I then sent all my bills via email and explanation to the Head office Sales Manager ANDRÉ BOURBONNAIS, I called him several times with no return call or acknowlegment except a read receipt to my email so he did get my email I would never recommend these valves, the Hot water heater Rep said they always fail, the Plumber does not use this type, we had to go to RONA and purchase them that night, and the contractor also said these always fail. So beware, I am requesting my almost $2000 back from John L Schultz again. Thank you
View full review
1 comment
#1689529

I am also having problems with 4 in my house that was just recently renovated. I am not sure what I will do, however it *** me off that Home Depot and others like them continue to sell this crap even when their own website is full of customer complaints.

I am investigating filing complaints.

It will most likely cost me $750 to $1500+ to take them out of my finished basement. Not happy.

ID
#1476478 Review #1476478 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Aqua Dynamic Valve
Cons
  • Customer service or sales manager did not answer at all
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Resolved: Coast Spas - Curve Series Mirage Hot Tub Review from Langley, British Columbia

Update by user Jun 08, 2017

Site visit by Managers, follow up from Coast Spas and Interpools. They came to the site and addressed all concerns for now. Thank you

Update by user Jun 08, 2017

Coast Spas followed up on my complaints it took a bit of time but they did and wanted to make sure everything was resolved. Too bad it...

View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1330507

We are so sorry that you've had a bad experience with the after-sales service provided. We would like the opportunity to correct the situation and ensure that you get the level of service that you have every right to expect when you purchase a Coast Spas Hot Tub.

Thank you providing your email address. We will have a representative reach out to you directly.

We understand that your time is valuable and we'll do everything we can to ensure that it is not wasted any further. Many apologies the inconvenience.

Kind Regards, Coast Spas

Resolved
ID
#1049237 Review #1049237 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Langley, British Columbia
Product
Coast Spas Curve Series Mirage Hot Tub
Pros
  • Coast spas head office is nice but no action from interpools
Cons
  • Service
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$35000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution