This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

Western Digital - WD did not send brand new drive and have been dealing with them 8 weeks!

Western Digital - WD did not send brand new drive and have been dealing with them 8 weeks!
Update by user Jul 10, 2020

I received no response to my message regarding the "RMA Received Confirmation" email on 06/20/20 via my Support Incident (# 200529-****57). Several days later, on 06/24/20, support was informed of this complaint/review and asked to respond as soon as possible.I finally received a response on 06/28/20, which stated, "We are gad to inform you that your new Replacement has been processed and the Prime Drive will be shipped to you with in 1-2 working days.", and with regards to this complaint/review, further stated, "The case has already been forwarded to our escalation team for further review on your complaint, please allow us sometime to look into this matter and our team will get back to you.".This was very upsetting and I replied as such on 07/01/20, pointing out this has been drawn out over two months now, therefore that is unacceptable and my complaint needs addressed immediately.

That, as of 06/30, I received a Confirmation email for RMA # 8829**** for the new replacement I requested numerous times the past month. This was created despite being more than well aware of this complaint/review and what I stated within (SEE BELOW). I further pointed out, as of that day, 07/01, the RMA indicates a drive with Serial # WX32A206R83H has been shipped. However, upon registering the above Serial # it too only has a 4-month warranty whereas all new drives have a 3-year warranty, and I asked what the reason is for this discrepancy.

Additionally, the RMA has a status of "Shipped", which I once again received no notification of, and the provided UPS Tracking Number was not valid according to the UPS website.For clarification, support was originally informed of this complaint/review on 06/17/20 and the included "Preferred Solution" in which I requested the brand new hard drive I was promised, shipped priority mail with the serial number provided in advance. Additionally, I asked that WD gift the replacement drive I was previously sent as compensation. All of which was willfully ignored by WD Support, who created RMA # 8829**** on 06/30/20 without saying a word. Instead I received nothing more than a RMA Confirmation email stating, "Important Note...

The $25 Advance RMA Service Fee is a non-refundable charge that is separate from the amount that is withheld from your credit card. If WD does not receive your product(s) within 30 days from the date the replacement product was shipped, your card on file will be charged $. If we are unable to charge your card, we will restrict your account from future Advance Replacement requests and void the warranty on your replacement product.". This is not the first Advance RMA I have been told I would receive, but is the first to include the above "Important Note".

I find this very irksome as it essentially is an ultimatum to either return the replacement previously received, which I requested WD gift two weeks prior, or the warranty on the new replacement will be voided.That aside, a new replacement delivered on 07/02/20. However, both the drive and its packing looked different than the original I purchased, and the first replacement. Subsequently, the following day I received a reply from support to my previous message stating, "all replaced drives comes with default 4 months of warranty and remaining warranty will be updated once you receive the replacement. I have also checked the status of UPS tracking which shows delivered now.

Please confirm so that I can update the warranty on your account.". I responded that day, 07/03/20, stating I had received the replacement and asked why the drive and packing looked different. As well as I also asked how to get in touch with someone to address this complaint.As of today, 07/10/20, I have received no response from support, nor has the warranty been updated to reflect the three years I was told would be carried over and extended by 90-days. In the meantime, I had purchased the WD 2TB My Passport to replace my 500GB drive, which is ten years old and all I have had to rely on since mid-April.

As a result I have been unable to backup my laptop since this long, drawn-out ordeal started in April.Being without my drive is no longer feasible or remotely acceptable. As such, today I attempted to use the new replacement received 07/02/20 but it is completely useless.

The drive is repeatedly disconnecting itself, and in a span of one hour I received over twenty desktop notifications stating, "Disk not ejected properly".This is precisely what had occurred with my original drive after barely two months, which support had said was, "due to the bad USB cable or bad drive", and resulted in it being replaced. Now, I have the same issue with the replacement I waited months to receive!

Original review posted by user Jun 24, 2020
I purchased a Western Digital (WD) 2TB My Passport Portable External Hard Drive and a 3-Year Rescue Data Recovery Services plan via Amazon on 02/12/20 for a total of $76.95. The day after I received the drive, on 02/16/20, I registered and reformatted it to use with my MacBook Pro. Unfortunately, the drive barely lasted two months before I began having issues with it disconnecting itself from my Mac. On 04/30/20 WD support was contacted the first time, but they passed the buck and told me to contact Apple. They were contacted multiple times that day and numerous times since then. On 05/01/20 support said the issue might be due to a bad USB cable or bad drive, and a replacement offered. I was then informed on 05/04/20 that the replacement would be refurbished. In the meantime, the issue worsened causing me to lose access to an entire volume on the drive which required reformatting and resulted in a loss of data. Then on 05/12/20 support said they would provide 3 months extension on the warranty. Finally, on 05/13/20 I created an RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization) for a replacement, which I called support about but they were again a waste of time. After throwing a fit about the whole ordeal I was contacted by a manager at WD Tech Support on 05/14/20 who said they will process the replacement with extended warranty of 3 months and provide a prepaid shipping label to return the defective drive. In addition, I was asked to provide proof of purchase so they could process the replacement with "Prime (Brand New Drive)", which I immediately provided. After a couple days I heard nothing back and contacted them again. They responded on 05/19/20 saying they would be processing my RMA with a brand new WD My Passport with 90 days extension on the warranty and a Prepaid UPS Shipping label would be sent within one business day. But I basically had to harass them to set this in motion rather than just "discussing" it and even still it took more than two weeks! Finally I received the replacement, which I did not get around to or register until 05/29/20. When I registered the serial number the replacement came back as a "Legacy Product", which instantly I knew I had received a refurbished drive and immediately contacted support. On 06/01/20 the same manager as before responded that the replacement was not a legacy product. Meanwhile, my original drive was received by WD on this same day. Then the manager responded on 06/05/20 directing my attention to an attached image saying it shows the drive was not refurbished or a legacy product, and requested I share the screenshot of the page where I am seeing the drive as a legacy product so they can investigate. In spite of their best efforts, it proved nothing as far as I was concerned, but it did clearly show the drive had only a 90 day warranty which they were aware of. Furthermore, I had attached copies of emails and screenshots when I created this support incident a week prior that provided all the information they needed and chose to ignore. He then responded on 06/12/20 saying the replacement I received was "incorrectly mapped as legacy products", which they have "fixed", and I could check by creating a new account with a new email address and registering the drive again. Essentially, they simply edited the information associated with the serial number in their system. I do not know if I was more shocked by this or disgusted. Until I returned a missed call from them on 06/16/20 regarding a new replacement I requested multiple times, and spoke with someone else who let it slip that I was in fact sent a refurbished drive. After throwing another fit I was asked to provide information for support to create a new RMA (drive serial number, shipping address, etc), which I asked for confirmation multiple times that a brand new drive would in fact be sent and was again told it would be a brand new drive. Then I asked about a return shipping label, but was told I am responsible for one-day shipping to return the drive and I said absolutely not. Support promised I would be sent a brand new drive, but sent a refurbished drive instead and flat out lied about it the last two weeks. He started to explain their "policy", but I pointed out I was sent a prepaid label before, and of course was told that was a "one time exception". In the end I told him to forget about and hung-up the phone. Several hours later I received a RMA confirmation email which had the incorrect serial number! Despite the fact that support is more than well aware of the serial number, the RMA was for the original drive I purchased, and that WD had in their possession for over two weeks!! So I called support explaining the issue, and the gentleman literally told me he did not see a problem. After explaining this no less than a half dozen times and having to resort to yelling he finally "got it". At that point I expected a new RMA to be created, but I was basically told the information would be passed along, and I would receive an email with all the information as well as a prepaid shipping label. I of course received no information or label, and the following day, on 06/17/20, decided to write a complaint here because I am beyond fed-up with WD's so-called "support". They were informed of this complaint, which several hours later I went back to add files to, and only then discovered there is a limit to how many files can be included. Unable to remove the files I had already added, I was forced to request that my complaint be deleted so I could combine multiple files into a single file and resubmit my complaint with this in mind. They were informed of this as well but I did not receive any response or acknowledgement. Then on 06/20/20 I received a RMA Received Confirmation email stating they received and processed the RMA product three days prior, and I will be notified by email once a replacement is ready for delivery. So I contacted support the same day to find out if I am being sent a new replacement or if someone simply changed information in their system again resulting in this email since the product in reference was the original drive WD received on 06/01/20. Again, I did not receive any response or acknowledgement.

User's recommendation: I would recommend a Dollar Store brand hard drive before ever recommending WD!

View full review
ID
#2009712 Review #2009712 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Western Digital Customer Care
Pros
  • Having an external hard drive backup for a few months
Cons
  • Misleading packaging
  • Provide no help or troubleshooting
  • Purposely try to deceive customers
Loss
$77
Preferred solution
I want the brand new hard drive I was promised, shipped priority mail with the serial number provided in advance to confirm. Additionally, I want WD to gift the replacement drive I was previously sent as compensation for the unnecessary hassles and lying.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

Better buy similar products elsewhere, Bulbhead WILL lie every chance they get!

Update by user Dec 25, 2019

Bulbhead keeps getting sketchier with each passing day!As of December 21, Bulbhead claimed they could find no order with the number I gave them. The next day they claimed my order was not placed on their website, "but with our sister concern company, i.e., the TeleBrands".

Yet, Bulbhead is who I have been calling since the original product shipped in a Bulbhead box, and each of the more than a half dozen times I have called I received a prerecorded message identifying the business as Bulbhead along with every representative who has answered. Not to mention I was billed by Bulbhead for both replacement orders.Today, December 25, they finally refunded the second order they cancelled two days ago, but it posted to my bank different then it did before. They also sent a refund confirmation email, which they did not do when the first order was cancelled and I complained. But they sent it to my dad and I have no idea how they managed that screw-up.

The best part is the email is signed, "Telebrands Corp., Order #1823****".So Bulbhead and Telebrands are in fact one and the same. Oddly, the website for the supposedly "discontinued" Spin Scrubber is still active.

Update by user Dec 24, 2019

Today I received an email from BulbHead offering a, “depreciated refund of $7.99” for my defective unit, which I promptly refused. After more than two weeks of being told I would receive a replacement, which a supervisor stated a week ago had shipped, I expect to receive a replacement and nothing less.

Original review posted by user Dec 23, 2019
My dad bought a Hurricane Spin Scrubber 2-Pack from BulbHead December 2016. He kept one for use in his bathroom and gave the other to me for use in our upstairs bathroom. But I never had the heart to tell him it did not work very well and was far from impressive. Until a couple of weeks ago when I was dealing with a couple plastic milk crates which needed to be cleaned. The first I had done by hand and cleaning inside each opening took hours! Then my dad suggested I try using the Spin Scrubber, which I was hesitant about since it did not work well, but thought it was worth a try if it made cleaning the last crate just a little easier. So I asked to use his Spin Scrubber to avoid going upstairs for mine. I was shocked to see they were worlds apart in how they worked. His was much more powerful and easily lasted twice as long as mine would. It was obvious the one I had was defective when it was sent and I had not realized it since I did not think to compare the two. On 12/08/2019 I called BulbHead Customer Service, explained this to the representative and asked if it could be replaced under the 10-year warranty. The rep stated they would need to be sent proof of purchase to replace the product and there would be a fee of $9.99 plus tax. I asked if the rep could check to see if it had been purchased through them, which he stated he could do and I provided him with my dads information. The rep stated he did locate the order, so proof of purchase would not be necessary, and only the fee of $9.99 would need to be paid. Further adding that delivery could take up to six weeks. At that point I asked to speak to someone to get a replacement ordered since it could take so long to receive. The rep stated he could place the order for me, so I confirmed the information on file and provided my debit card number to pay the fee which totaled $10.59. It was upon giving the rep permission to charge my card that things started to seem odd and only became more sketchy with each passing day. The rep never asked for my name, email, or anything and only had me confirm what was on file for my dad. Stating I could check some website for status updates and when I asked about a receipt stated it would be inside the order. For whatever reason, BulbHead billed $1.00 on 12/09/2019 and the remaining balance of $9.59 on 12/10/2019. On 12/14/2019 I had gone to the random website I was given to check the status and it showed the order as cancelled. According to my bank, it was cancelled and a refund issued on 12/11/2019. So I called BulbHead Customer Service again to find out why it had been cancelled and why I had not been notified. This time a woman answered and after pulling the order stated the product was unavailable. Thinking this was a mistake since the 2-Pack shows as “Out of Stock” on their website, I told her I had been checking their website and the single Spin Scrubber has been in stock, so the order should not have been cancelled. The rep immediately stated the website does not show that information and it only gives a product name. That hit a nerve, do not tell me I am wrong when I have the page in front of me. I said nothing and went on to ask why I was not notified that it was cancelled. The rep stated a notification was sent, to which I informed her nothing was received. The rep then stated it could take up to a week and upon having her clarify, found out I was notified via U.S. Mail of the order being cancelled and I said it was the most ridiculous thing I had ever heard of. Then rep then stated she could place a second order and that process was gone through again. That same day I emailed BulbHead to complain about not being notified that my order was cancelled and the rep being rude when I called about it. But I did not receive a response. Then same as before, on 12/16/2019 BulbHead billed $1.00 and on 12/17/2019 the remaining balance of $9.59. On 12/15/2019 I called Customer Support because the website to check the order status was retrieving only the previous order. Let me tell you, the representative who answered that day was by far the rudest person I have ever spoken with. I made a comment about making the two separate payments, and he acted offended, stating there were not two charges. I said the two payments are on my statement and I know my bank did not split one charge. The rep continued to argue and state I was wrong. Finally, I told him that was enough, it was irrelevant, and I was not going to argue with him about it. The rep then stated he has the right to explain when a customer says something is irrelevant. At that point I got a major attitude, told him he does not have the right to do anything and I do not need anything explained when I have a bank statement that clearly shows two payments. On 12/16/2019 I called Customer Service again but the same rep from the previous call answered. I informed him of why I was calling and asked to speak to a supervisor because he was very rude and extremely condescending when I had called the day prior. The rep puts me on hold to get a supervisor, which he did several times and in between was insistent on pushing the same argument from the day before. Finally, I got a supervisor who stated I did not have to worry, this order would not be cancelled and it was already given to the shipper. Further adding that it could ship within the next 24-48 hours. Before ending the call I asked that he look into the conversations with the reps who had been so rude, and he stated he would. On 12/20/2019 I emailed BulbHead, again mentioning the rude reps and asked if my order could be looked into since I was told it was given to the shipper and there is still no tracking number. The following day, 12/21/2019, I received multiple replies to my last email, the first was never acknowledged. Whoever emailed me from BulbHead stated they were unable to locate any order, and I called again which I specifically had stated is what I was trying to avoid. The rep stated the same as the last, the order was already given to the shipper. I asked who the shipper was because there still had not been an update providing a tracking number. The rep quite literally started naming off every shipper one could think of. The rep provided nothing but evasive answers no matter what I asked or said, and never did tell me who this supposed shipper was. Then on 12/22/2019 I received another email from BulbHead, they stated my order was not placed on their website, but with their sister company TeleBrands. They requested the order info to help locate my order, which I had previously provided to them. So I replied, informing them my order is with them, they are who I have been calling and again provided them information to locate the order. Now today, 12/23/2019, I received a reply from BulbHead stating the order was cancelled because the product is unavailable, and a refund issued. My head almost exploded considering they had been saying the order was already given to the shipper, even though I did not entirely buy that since no shipper would have held onto it without issuing a tracking number. Immediately I call BulbHead Customer Service, which is now the seventh time I have had to do so in two weeks between these two orders. But lucky me got the same rude, jerk of a rep that answered twice before. I told him why I was calling, and he immediately argued with me that my order had not been cancelled. I had to tell him FOUR times, it is showing on the status website as cancelled and BulbHead would not email me stating it was cancelled if it had not been. The rep proceeded to argue and I asked for a supervisor because I have had it up past my eyeballs with BulbHead. The rep puts me on hold for several minutes, then comes back stating the order was cancelled because the product was unavailable. So I almost lost it, saying I had told him that four times and had also asked to talk to a supervisor. Which halfway through I had to stop to tell the rep to not interrupt me when I am speaking. The rep then states the order was cancelled, the product will not ship, but a refund will be issued since it has been DISCONTINUED. In the end I was ultimately denied a supervisor and every single person I have spoken to has lied to me. So I do not know if it was really discontinued or yet another lie to get out of replacing my Spin Scrubber. BUT I suspect it is a lie, otherwise they would not have placed two orders for it as they would have known they could not be fulfilled in the first place. Plus, it is readily available to order on their website. Regardless, I have notified BulbHead that they have until Friday to place a new order and provide an order number as well as tracking, otherwise I am going to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau for their refusal to honor their 10-year warranty.
View full review
ID
#1740820 Review #1740820 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bulbhead Customer Care
Cons
  • Refusing to honor warranty
  • Customer service blatantly lies
  • Defective product
Reason of review
Sent defective product, was told I would receive a warranty replacement but two orders have been cancelled so far and seven reps have lied
Preferred solution
I want to be sent the warranty replacement product I was told multiple times I would receive, that it had already been given to the shipper and could ship in 24-48 hours.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer
Home Shopping Network - Shop somewhere else, ANYWHERE else!
Home Shopping Network - Shop somewhere else, ANYWHERE else!
Home Shopping Network - Shop somewhere else, ANYWHERE else!
Update by user Dec 31, 2019

On December 26 I received the following email from a "Senior Account Supervisor" at HSN, "I have received your e-mail regarding your concerns in regards to your recent interaction with HSN customer service agents via phone,email & chat. Thank you for taking the time to...

View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2041699

So glad I read your review. I’ll definitely not be ordering from this place.

View more comments
ID
#1732754 Review #1732754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Flex-pay
Cons
  • Horrible customer service
  • Misleading practice
  • Product not as described
Reason of review
Sent used product, refused replacement, force additional order to correct their mistake, unnecessarily withheld additional order, terrible customer service, argue policies otherwise concealed from customers, blatantly lied to by supervisor
Preferred solution
I feel it only fair that both my father and I be compensated for the hassles experience, as well as for my father having to tie up funds on two orders to correct HSN's mistake. Therefore I feel they should pay for his order totaling $44.64 in full.