Will M Bzp
map-marker Des Moines, Washington

Kaplan LSAT Classroom experience - AVOID

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Kaplan LSAT Test Prep Higher Score Guarantee This complaint is in regards to the August 2018 LSAT classroom prep course and their Higher Score Guarantee. I have tried repeatedly to resolve this issue with them directly over the phone (27-minute call with them on 10/4/2018 and emails to them on 10/4/2018 and 10/8/2018. My final email on to them never received a response). Therefore, with no willingness or response from Kaplan, I am resorting to addressing the BBB. Kaplan is unwilling to refund the full amount of the course, $1,224.00, as they are now saying I did not complete the course to their satisfaction, despite my instructor's recommendation in my favor and repeated attempts at trying to contact them. My experience with Kaplan began soon after signing up for the class, while out of town. The class was selected for the specific dates and times it offered - dates and times I was able to work around with my job. While out of town, two weeks before the start date I had enrolled in for August 2018, I received an email saying they had canceled the original dates, changed the structure of the days/time I would be in class and then moved the start date up a week. I called them immediately upon my return home, only to be told there was nothing they could do and "sorry". I then took the full class and September LSAT - only to come out with a score 3 points lower than the original score I had received on my first LSAT attempt, prior to taking the Kaplan course. I began calling and emailing, only to be informed after the fact that I am not qualified to receive the refund as a result of not accessing all the online material in addition to all the other work. This seems to be a clear misrepresentation of the Higher Score Guarantee outlined on their website. In the 3 steps outlined under their Higher Score Guarantee, at no place does it indicate their requirements for successful completion of all of the online material plus the classroom material, which is simply more work than can be completed in a week while working a full-time job. In addition, when I spoke with the customer service representative on the phone on 10/4/2018, she told me the majority of the learning process and understanding of the Kaplan process occurs outside of the classroom. As I work a full-time job, I do not have the time to spend hours upon hours outside the job and the classroom; hence, why I selected a classroom and instructor to teach. Had I been informed they required all of this time outside of the classroom prior to selecting the course, I would not have selected the classroom course in the first place but would have instead conducted self-study. Again, when referencing the Kaplan Higher Score Guarantee (HSG) Conditions and Restrictions, none of these additional criteria are outlined in Step 1, 2, 3. I asked them again to refund the amount (email - 10/8/2018), and only the amount, spent on the course ($1,224.00). Kaplan has not contacted me since. I gave them ample time and opportunity to resolve this issue without resorting to negative reviews and submissions, only to encounter silence and delays on their end.
View full review
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Noach Ucm
map-marker Miami, Florida

Worst course ever GRE

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I thought that I'll enjoy my time doing this course, but obviously I was wrong. I would never have imagined that this course was structured like this. Students enrolled in this program have to do 16 hours of study by their own and another 6 hours on classes. As you can see, the most part of this course is by yourself so eventually all is up to each of us, they just provide us with some books and teach us some strategies to success on test day or at lest that what they said. This is not a regular program where your teacher and also or the staff care about you. I HARDLY NOT RECOMMEND THIS COURSE
View full review
  • English courses
  • Grad courses
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article