Susan O Uvw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Kitty Hawk, North Carolina

Be warned

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Be warned
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Be warned - Image 2
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Be warned - Image 3
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Be warned - Image 4
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Be warned - Image 5

We stayed in the Turquoise Turtle#355, week of 6/24-7/1. We had multiple interruptions to our vacation to accommodate repair techs, for items that should have been addressed prior to our arrival.

Drain clogged in second-floor bathroom on arrival, use plunger to fix.

Should have been checked prior to our arrival.

Grill not working properly and gas tank empty, two additional empty tanks on the property. Was told we had to get our own propane.

Window in upper eating area would not close, wind, and rain and Hurst during storm.

Basketball, net, falling apart Unable to use.

The two swings on level two had faulty links Unsafe to sit on.

The air conditioning on third level went down on Sunday night, made emergency call Sunday night. This was a known issue, drains flushed out next day.

Railing on top deck loose. Held together by blue tape.

Front door lock broken and would not open.

All sliding doors were difficult to open and close. Lights around the pool bar are not functional, plugs melted from prior use.

The kitchen needs additional utensils for a large group, pots and pans are in bad shape and unusable.

For $20,000 we feel we deserve the better. Most of these issues could have been prevented with some sort of quality check on a regular basis.

View full review
Cons:
  • See my review

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Don’t use them!

Joetta H Amf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Auburn, Indiana

To warn other people

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Less than 24 hours before we were to step foot inside the house we had fully paid for and reserved in December, we received a call from Jeffrey McGee from Joe Lamb - that our house would not be available. He said he would be leaving for the day in 20 minutes and if we could find a house within that time frame, let him know, otherwise call him the next day.

He gave me addresses of 8 properties and we hurriedly went to each one trying to check them out. NONE were comparable to the house we'd reserved. For more money, there were a couple more we could look at!! Fortunately for us and no thanks to Mr.

McGee, we actually did book another house the next day with a different company so our vacation was saved.

I have never seen such poor customer service. Incidentallly it is now 15 days later and though assured, they would refund our money -- it has NOT happened.

View full review
Loss:
$500

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: NEVER BOOK A HOUSE WITH JOE LAMB. If there is any kind of problem, you are totally on your own to solve it. And getting your money back, well good luck.

Nikki G Mzm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No return call

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

We rented the house two houses down from my family's house. We like to be close.

We packed up and left our rented house but stayed at my parents' house the remainder of the day. About an hour after leaving, my daughter remembered her fitbit and head phones under the pillow. We ran back over but the cleaners had been and gone and her items were not anywhere to be found.

We have called multiple times since Saturday and it is Monday now. No return call from the woman who is supposed to be in charge of lost and found.

View full review

Preferred solution: I would like my daughter's items returned.

User's recommendation: Don't leave anything behind because they don't care.

George M Egh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Horrible Experience with Joe Lamb & Associates

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Horrible Experience with Joe Lamb & Associates
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Horrible Experience with Joe Lamb & Associates - Image 2
Joe Lamb Jr And Associates - Horrible Experience with Joe Lamb & Associates - Image 3
Updated by user Sep 06, 2020

This issue has not been addressed by Joe Lamb. We received an email indicating we would be receiving a call. We never received a call of resolution to this issue.

Original review Aug 01, 2020

BEWARE - Review of Joe Lamb Jr &;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; Associates in Outer Banks North Carolina

We stayed at the Tides Inn (212) - very disappointed

The following was submitted to the standard Joe Lamb email survey and multiple emails were sent to the staff without any response or acknowledgement. Of course this review is not posted on the Joe Lamb website because.

The unit master bedroom bathroom was clearly either not cleaned at all, or not cleaned very well.

Upon our arrival the shower in the master bedroom had a long women's hair hanging on the wall of the shower and used soap still in the bath tub ledge. We were immediately uncomfortable and concerned about what else may have been missed that is not visible.

We arrived early at the house at 11am to beat the traffic and the cleaners finished sometime before 11am. We know this because we could look through windows. So obviously there was not a deep cleaning unless they started before the previous renters left.

Needless to say we were horrified and disappointed.

And to think that we are in a once in a hundred year pandemic is mind boggling how this can happen. Is there no quality control? We were not comfortable in the unit knowing it was not properly cleaned and are concerned about the virus.

If we had an option to leave on Sunday we would have if there was another option.

The second major problem was the Wifi did not work. Multiple people staying were counting on that for work purposes.

Our daughter is a teacher and had to be able to be on line at 8 Monday morning. She was panicked and had to call multiple people to arrange coverage. Needless to say her vacation started out not as planned. It took two days to resolve.

Other factors that contribute to our disappointment and dissatisfaction was the door on the upper level did not close, an old moldy soap dispenser was left in one of the bathrooms and was used and discovered by one of our guests.

We have pictures to document these issues.

Owners should be required to make basic upgrades each year to justify the rates they charge;i.e. new shower curtain liners.

We understand that human error is possible with anything, but given we are in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, this is really unacceptable and would be the last thing to expect.

View full review
Pros:
  • Lots of rental properties
Cons:
  • Horrible experience with joe lamb

Preferred solution: Price reduction

Anonymous
map-marker Currituck, North Carolina

Awful Place #195

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Entrance was from the neighbors driveway. Had ask them to back their car up so we could get to stairs.

Had to walk in main busy street just to get to neighbors driveway.

Floors were dirty with dirt, sand and dried food. Rotten food in cabinets. No WiFi as advertised. Managements response to all the dirt and rotten food was; that was contracted out and I should contact those people.

As far as the WiFi problem, that was the cable company and it would take 1-2 weeks for them to respond. Therefor no WiFi.

This was our forth unit rented with Joe Lamb and our last.

View full review
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
Donna W Lnq
map-marker Chicago, Illinois

Joe Lamb Jr Realty, Vacation home

My family and I love the OBX, but had a really bad experience when using Joe Lamb Jr Realty. Here is our story and their response.

THE VACATION

On our arrival the front door would not open, the floors were covered with dirt and sand, mold growing around the tub and hair in it, dishes in the kitchen were put away dirty, food still stuck on plates, utensils and cups.

On our second day we found the grass/weeds were growing higher than the swings around the property, the pool had debris in it. I called and spoke with Susan Pruitt about the issues and was told she will send someone out to take care of everything.

On the third day a crew showed up and started cutting the grass/weed. The cuttings from the grass and weeds were blown all over our vehicles and blown all over the family, myself included while enjoying the pool area. I called Susan while the crew was there and explained what happened, emphasizing that the pool was full of cuttings and debris. She said she would call me back.

I didn't hear back from her, so after a few hours I called her back. Susan said that she spoke with the crew that cut the grass and they said they cleaned the pool. She was also going to send an inspector out to survey the property. Susan called back and asked us to meet the inspector. After stopping our vacation to meet the inspector, he took pictures of different things and talked about what our issues are. The pool had a thick ring around the water line where the debris had gathered. The inspector even stated that this shouldn't be acceptable.

A couple hours later Susan called back. She said she could send a cleaning crew to clean the bathrooms but we would have to be present and the pool crew would come the next day. I declined the cleaning crew (we already cleaned enough to use the house) would prefer the pool crew to come that evening.

On the fourth day the pool crew supposedly came and cleaned the pool, but there still was a thick ring around the pool wall and debris in the pool. I was too upset to call back. My husband went out and cleaned the pool enough so we could enjoy it. On our last day I can tell you that the property was left cleaner than how we arrived. We asked for a partial refund.

THE RESPONSE

Hi Donna

Kim has received a response from the owner of #329, Dad's Place, and in this instance, they were not willing to offer a refund to you. Joe Lamb, Jr. & Associates, Inc. however, would like to offer you $100 refund for the inconvenience to you including time spent cleaning and your cooperation with our inspection process.

If you choose to accept this offer, I will email a release for you to sign and return. Upon receipt, a check will be mailed to you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Susan Pruitt

Joe Lamb, Jr. & Associates, Inc

1-80*-552-**** or 252-261-****

View full review
11 comments
Guest

So your main problem was the pool area ? The pool area ?

The pool ?

I guess everything was fine with the ocean ? Or maybe that's not what you came for ...

Guest

For the amount of money paid, things should have been nicer. I have stayed in other rental cottages on the Outer Banks and they were all incredibly clean and well-kept. Unfortunately, our house in Duck left us questioning the cleaning practices of the rental agency. Let me also note, that many of the issues were not the home owners fault. The rental house was obviously loved by its owners. The issues we had were with how it was managed.

First, I am very uneasy about a rental agency that asks those leaving to sweep, shake out rugs, clean appliances, and make sure the trash is taken out to the curb. I am all for leaving things in good shape, but I do not feel good about using appliances that I am not sure have been cleaned by a professional. It makes me question the credibility of the entire home cleaning. Did someone really clean the bathroom? Second, there was a lot of dust. Dust stuck to the walls, on the items around the home, and on light fixtures. There was no vent in the return duct, either. Sneezing was definitely an issue. The beds were also a problem. At least two of the bed frames were missing castings. As a result, one mattress titled downward and you felt like were falling off it all night and another (in a child's bedroom) tilted so badly to the side that an adult fell and pinned her ankle. In addition, the mattresses need replacing. In one case, it appeared that the "mattress" on a bunk bed was really just a piece of plywood wrapped in batting.

Please know that I do not expect a five star home, but I do expect a home that I rent to be cleaned appropriately.

Guest

My parents had an older cottage on the oceanfront in Kitty Hawk when we were growing up. It was very basic, but we had the same repeat families each year.

When they checked out many made their reservation for the next year.

Our success was based on 1) very reasonable price 2) we had a good company renting it and keeping it clean and maintained. it's as simple as that!

Guest

I have rented from Joe lamb for the last 4 years and very pleased with the service. However, it's a nightmare in the parking lot checking in and out.

Not enough parking spaces to accommodate everyone checking in at 4:00. Also, I'm concerned with the cleaning crews he has.

Towards the end of the summer they never clean under the furniture. Large accumulation of sand that I have to get up myself and bedspreads are always dirty.

Guest

I have heard many complaints about Lamb, I have always used stan White & have been pleased with their services

Guest

My sister and I have been renting from Joe Lamb for eight years now and they have been more than accommodating. In fact this spring when car trouble forced us to stay an extra week they were very helpful getting us a last minute rental for that week and even knocked off the $300.00 deposit so it would fit into our budget. I have no qualms about renting from them

Guest

Similar experience here. Home looked good online.

Business conducted prior to arrival was up to par. Upon arrival, home was outdated and far from what we saw online. Not to mention, dirty and rundown.

We did call but received similar follow up as described in other reviews. We will not use them again.

Guest

Just rented from Joe Lamb Jr and was quite disappointed with the property - #320 Beach Retreat in S. Nags Head.

Absolutely no reply from them upon giving them an in-depth review at their request. Will not be using them again for not trying to make any amends.

Guest

We rented from Joe Lamb Jr in July 2011. We were very happy with the serviced they provided.

Our Washer broke on our second day there.

They send someone immediately. The washer couldn't be fixed and was replaced with a new one within hours!

Guest

I was really considering on using this realty but there are too many negatives to overlook. I know you cant please everyone and that there might be a negative comment or two but this is nuts.

I'm so glad that I've done my research before making any type of commitments.

I love the OBX and would hate to have a horrible experience because of a bad realtor. Thanks for the warning.

View more comments (10)

Real Estate Expert Talks

What Do Property Management Companies Do @ Interview with Property Management Expert

Nov 27, 2020

Property management companies: What do they do? How much do they charge? Do you need one? Find answers in an interview with Colby Hager, a real estate investor, and expert who share his experience with property management companies.

Read full article
Colby Hager
Colby Hager

Colby Hager is an experienced real estate investor with Capstone Homebuyers. He has years of experience in renovating houses, home remodeling, and property management.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article