New Reviewer

Charged for room not allowed to stay in

Hotel refused to allow us to check in and refuses to refund money , hotel .com wouldn't help either.beware ewb
View full review
ID
#2838585 Review #2838585 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$337
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Free night credit card number not valid

Making reservation one more night at Woosprings Dames Point Crossing hotel in Jacksonville Florida to receive my Free night
View full review
ID
#2607485 Review #2607485 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida

For 3 weeks I've been trying to book a room with my hotels.com gift card

I've not been able to use my hotels.com gift card even though it's been verified as active and with balance of $200. I've been transferred to person after person, I've sent email and got no response, I've been told the superviser would call me back and never received a call. My mother bought me the gift card because my car was stolen with all my stuff in it and it's cold very cold here in Reno Nevada and so I needed a motel room and nobody helped me at all.

User's recommendation: Don't use Hotels.com.

View full review
ID
#2440428 Review #2440428 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Laveen, Arizona

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Impossible to cancel a Free Cancellation booking

Hoteis.com has proved to be the worst booking website I have ever come across by. We wanted to make a reservation knowing there was a chance we couldn't make it, so we looked for free cancellations. Hoteis.com had a good offer for the place we wanted to stay in, so we booked through their website. The problems started from the get go. We booked a room for two persons, with free cancellation and no breakfast. We received (and got charged on the spot) a reservation for one person, with breakfast AND no free cancellation. Believing it was some sort of mistake with the website we tried to amend this by getting in touch with them. It's impossible. They have no support during the weekend (!). During the week they have an extra cost number you can use during office hours (9am-18pm), which when you call says it works from 11am to midnight. Well we called after 11:30 and there was no one we could talk to. Repeatedly. We ended up finding an email to get in touch in a complaint website, someone with a similar issue. We explained the situation by email while trying to reach them. At this point we already know we can't make it to the hotel that day and want to make it use of the free cancellation. We were already running out of time to cancel given there is no weekend support, so we also got in touch with the Hotel directly, which understandably says it has to be cancelled by Hoteis.com. Going out of our way, we finally realized they were part of Expedia and called them also. They were super friendly and tried to help us, but even them could not get in touch with anyone from Hoteis.com. They were pretty appalled at how nonexistent the whole service was. Unfortunately they couldn't help us. When we finally received a reply from Hoteis.com it was way over the cancellation period and at this point we replied with a refund request. It was clearly in no way our fault that we could not cancel this booking. Despite we repeatedly explaining the situation to different people they always come back with something in the lines of "the hotel does not authorize the refund". We know full well the hotel will not authorize a refund to something they also have no fault at, it is clearly Hoteis.com absolute abysmal service that caused all this, therefore, it is on them to refund us. Given we have explained the situation and it is something they have records of and can verify, even though we at first thought they were just following a process, it is now obvious they are intentionally not owning up to their mistakes and playing dumb. We will never give them our business again and you'd do best to do the same.

User's recommendation: Stay away.

View full review
ID
#2106986 Review #2106986 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Braga, Braga

Travel Expert Talks

Travel Tips: Airbnb VS Traditional Renting

Oct 30, 2020

Is it safe to rent from local vacation rental owners? What are the pros and cons of Airbnb and VRBO? In this video, Mary Branum, a vacation rentals expert, and experienced homeowner, shares her insights as to how vacation rental owners can maintain good clientele, how consumers should plan a vacation, and how to protect yourself.

Read full article
Mary Branum
Mary Branum

Mary Branum is a vacation rental expert, owner of Galveston Island and President of STROAG.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article