Rating: 1 Star Clear all filters (53 of 380 reviews match)
Filter by rating
filters
Product:
Show
Rating:
1.0
Details
Gate1travel - Terrible service .. beware
Gate1travel - Terrible service .. beware
I booked a trip in Dec 2018, I needed to change the travel dates, I called two months before my trip in Sept 2019 to reschedule due to my son graduating from Navy Bootcamp. They told me no military was not a good enough reason, that I’d have to cancel and they’d keep...
View full review
5 comments
Anonymous
#1761334

Your final payment is due at least two months prior to travel, of course a graduation won't be considered an emergency, military or otherwise. These are scheduled way in advance. If you neglected to schedule your vacation around a graduation ceremony, that is on you.

View more comments
Review
#1671482 Review #1671482 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Cheap vacations
Cons
  • Lack of customer service care
  • Refuse to offer options when you need to make a change
  • Blame their vendors and customers
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Terrible Service
  • Mot Military Family Friendly
1.0
Details
Gate 1 Travel is absolutely, positively the worst travel company for customer service. I booked an independent tour to Paris earlier this summer for my 70th Birthday. When we arrived at our hotel, the room was extremely warm. After dinner, upon returning to the room,...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#1761338

Why wouldn't you have contacted the emergency travel number in your travel documents?

View more comments
Review
#1640916 Review #1640916 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service problem resoulution
  • Every customer service action they take
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$800
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Gate 1 Customer Service
1.0
Details
Gate 1 Travel is absolutely, positively the worst travel company for customer service. I booked an independent tour to Paris earlier this summer for my 70th Birthday. When we arrived at our hotel, the room was extremely warm. After dinner, upon returning to the room,...
View full review
1 comment
Gate1Travel
#1740715

Hello, We are sorry if you feel there is any lapse in service. However, we did contact the hotel multiple times on your behalf.

As previously explained, they refute that anyone left the hotel due to the heat or that there were issues with the air conditioning. As such, they have charged in full per the terms of your reservation.

Review
#1633337 Review #1633337 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Reason of review
Bad quality
1.0
Details

Update by user Aug 07

We booked a trip with Gate1 Travel so that we could visit our son who has been stationed in Asia for service in the US Navy. We paid a deposit for him in good faith, believing per his current orders that he would still be stationed there, but he was just sent back to...

View full review
2 comments
Gate1Travel
#1731988

Upon review of your records it appears that our staff was able to offer assistance with a copy of your son's orders.

View more comments
Review
#1616306 Review #1616306 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
allow me to be credited for his deposit. I am paying in full for our portion of the trip.
1.0
Details
We needed to travel from Regensburg to Prague Fly back to Paris. The bus driver had the bathroom locked so it was not available. I asked the bus driver to let me use the bathroom and they told me it was dirty. When I told him I don’t care he finally unlocked it and the...
View full review
2 comments
Gate1Travel
#1721889

Hello, We sincerely apologize if you experienced any lapse in service with your bus driver. We do take our clients feedback very seriously and carefully evaluate the performance of every driver.

We do appreciate you sharing your feedback as it is an invaluable training tool. After reviewing your records, we do understand that one of our Customer Service agents have reached out to you in an effort to address your concerns.

View more comments
Review
#1573056 Review #1573056 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
1.0
Details
I booked a tour last year and was very happy. I decided to book book your Kladescope of Morocco tour, and paid for ii. Reservation1595005 -11,departing 19th April. I was really looking forward to the tour. Unfortunately had a small accident ,scraping my shin. All was...
View full review
1 comment
Gate1Travel
#1676446

Hello, We are sorry to hear that you were not able to travel with us. Please kindly note that our cancellation policies are dictated by pre-negotiated vendor agreements.

This is one of the reasons we strongly encourage clients to purchase travel protection. Your situation is a good example of where it could come in handy.

Per your last communication with our office you indicated you would submit a claim with your travel insurance and would follow up if needed. While it seems our staff was helpful addressing your situation, we regret if you felt that was not the case.

Review
#1507776 Review #1507776 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
1.0
Details
Booked 3 tickets KL to Rome through China. The day before of my departure i received an email changing the stay over in china for more than 24 hours, initial stay over was only 3 hours. If in transit a tourist can't stay for more than 24 hours in china from certain...
View full review
1 comment
Gate1Travel
#1625628

Hello, We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with the flights you purchased however it does not appear that you purchased your tickets through our company. We are Gate 1 Travel, a U.S.

based tour operator. It seems you may have booked through Gate 1 which is a European consolidator whom we have no association with.

Review
#1439518 Review #1439518 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Change without notice and lack of accountability
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Malaysia Gate1 my Irresponsible
1.0
Details
Three years after purchasing a trip to Peru through GROUPON, I have never taken the trip and never received a credit or refund. I saved for 4 years to be able to take this "bucket list trip" with a friend. After purchasing the GROUPON, the trip was scheduled through...
View full review
2 comments
Gate1Travel
#1570671

Hello, While we want to sell you the vacation you want, the Groupon vouchers are sold for a specific product with specific departures dates that may vary in price. For this reason, we are unable to simply switch you to a different trip and you must make the exchange with Groupon.

As you mentioned, you were affected by weather, it is for this reason we offer travel protection. As for any lapse in service, we do apologize and have shared your comments with the appropriate individuals.

View more comments
Review
#1363617 Review #1363617 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service unwilling to offer options or be reasonable
  • Lack of follow up
  • Unprofessional treatment i received
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1050
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
1.0
Details
I bought insurance that the rep said would cover irrespective of the reason for cancellation. Refused
View full review
1 comment
Gate1Travel
#1558006

Hello, It is difficult to respond to your complaint without the ability to view your reservation. It may be the case that the agent was referring to our cancel for any reason supplement. That said, if you have more questions, please don't hesitate to contact our office via our online forms.

Review
#1342691 Review #1342691 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

Contact Gate1travel Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Gate1Travel
455 Maryland Drive
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania 19034
United States
Phone:
(800) 682-3333
All Gate1travel Contacts

Latest Question

Gate1travel Questions
1.4
Details
BEWARE! I booked a tour for a twin room, as my roommate was someone I met through a travel group and did not know well. We got to a hotel and went into the room with ONE BED. Unacceptable. The tour leader could not do anything about it. I ended up having to sleep on...
View full review
1 comment
Gate1Travel
#1501089

Hello,We do regret your disappointment with the accommodations. We do indicate the use of air-conditioning abroad differs greatly from the United States, and is often shut down at night and from the end until the start of the summer months. As for your beds, we do make requests on clients behalf and although typically two twin beds are provided, in the end room assignments are done by the hotel and based on their availability.

Review
#1275216 Review #1275216 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Excuses
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$300