Yoshua Qxk

Lazy Movers afraid of manual labor

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Disgusted! 2 movers complained entire time. "Where did you find the world's heaviest futon?" It was a sleeper sofa. "Man, that the heaviest dresser I have ever moved!" Should I apologize for having quality furniture instead of fiber board? Paid 3 hrs of help unloading 16' truck in Lubbock, TX. June 22, 2019. Left boxes all on 1st floor after promises they would move up to the designated bedrooms once they got them all inside. Never did. Left dresser standing on its end at the bottom of the stairs & had broken the glass top. Said 1 hall table left on the truck that they couldn't get to. Truck was actually still 1/3 full of boxes. Excuse was 1 was worn out & other had plans. Refused to stay extra time as work order said they would. Took longer to unload 2/3 of truck than movers that wrapped & loaded entire truck from 3rd floor. Took 30 minutes each time they went to grab a load.Had to hire movers the next day to do what I had already paid them to do.
View full review
Pros:
  • Price
Cons:
  • Damaged items and incomplete job
Reason of review:
Work Experience or Job Application

Preferred solution: Full refund

Dale P Xvq
map-marker Phoenix, Arizona

Bad company

I hired this company to help me move my furniture , the heavy stuff into a pod on a Friday, March 22 as I was leaving for Arizona on March 23. The day of the move, I get a call telling me that the 2 guys I hired can't make it until 3 O'clock in the afternoon. I didn't have that time to wait, I asked what happened, the sales guy, Burt, told me that the mover, John, wasn't replaying to texts or answering his phone so he didn't know the reason why. I was also told that I couldn't get a discount if I waited until 3 O'clock. I got some family to come help me load the pod and I cancelled the order with this company. Poor customer service and poor planning. I will never use this company and I would recommend nobody else use it either.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Leslie G Jkz

Unprofessional sloven workers

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
DO NOT USE EASY MOVING LABOR. First, they were 1 1/2 hrs late. Second, they took a smoke and snack break. Third, their car wouldn’t start; had to jump them off. Fourth, they were supposed to assemble furniture but “forgot tools”. Lastly, had to jump their car so they could leave. When I called the office he didn’t see the problem with these guys having unreliable transportation. What if his car stopped in the middle of the road? NEVER AGAIN.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Charlotte, North Carolina

DONT'T USE EASY MOVING LABOR!!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Hired a few movers for a move weeks in advance of the move. Took Burt Johnson FOREVER to get me an invoice/ reciept for work to be done. When moving day came, the movers were 4 hours late which cost me hundreds in late fees for truck and extra help. The guys that came out were great, dirty but great. I had to ask them to wash their hands before they touched everything! The guys that came out said that Easy Moving labor called them at the last second to come do the move and told them not to tell me that, to tell me that someone called out, IMAGINE THAT! Hire someone else!
View full review
Loss:
$400
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

1 comment
Guest

I've been a mover for 20 years. No one has ever had to pay hundreds of dollars in late fees for a truck.

Some people just want movers' labor for free. It sounds like they were able to get another crew out to you, but you must have wanted something more.

Sounds like they did a good job. Did you threaten to post a bad review unless you got your move for free?

Anonymous
map-marker Illinois City, Illinois

Requested labor to unload a container of furniture

I called for labor help to unload our container of furniture,I spoke to a gentlemen who set this up through one of his contractors who supplied the labor. I called the number Charlie,at Easy Moving Labor had given me when our help had still not arrived at 3:45 P.M. I called 630-277-**** and spoke to a women named Amanda who asked Julian where the help was, Julian said they were on their way. Two dirty young men showed up soon after stating they worked for Julian. They told my husband immediately if we had other unloading in the future we could contact them directly. My husband did not respond to this offer. It started out well, but after one suggestion on how they might turn our sofa which they had stuck in a hallway turn the attitude and profanity started. They became more and more rude and the profanity became worse. They went out of their way to damage the freshly painted walls from the basement entry all the way to the second floor. They dropped my wood furniture which they pointed the wood tops down to intentionally damage them. When they were leaving we did not tip them and they threw trash all over our commonly shared driveway with other town homes.We called Julian to complain and sent pictures of all the damage. This is 5 days later and Julian has still not taken any action to do repairs or even show up to see the damages his employees did to our home and furniture. Julian is located in Naperville and also does cleaning of repossessed homes and also has a Junk Business I guess Julian just dose not care about the people who wind up using him. My husband and I are older and unable to do the kind of work of unloading furniture, but I will never use Easy Moving Labor to help again. Shame on You.
View full review
Loss:
$600
5 comments
Guest

Everyone wants top service for free... this company has phenomenally LOW RATES. Pay=results...

Yoshua Qxk
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1658460

Anonymous means irrelevant

Guest

You almost had me until you mentioned freshly painted walls and damages to uncovered items. Everyone knows you can't prevent damages unless your items are PROPERLY wrapped & packed.

Furthermore, Freshly Painted Walls are not the responsibility of the movers, IT IS COMPLETE NONSENSE to hire a moving company or any contractor for that matter, to perform any service that consists of utilizing the interior of your home.

It is industry standard, and also COMMON SENSE to have your floors and walls covered when you are moving items. Sounds like you didn't want to pay the extra money or put in the extra time for these precautionary tasks.

Guest

Why would you have movers moving your items if your walls were freshly painted? Why wasn't your furniture wrapped and packed properly to prevent damages? Your comment is b.s.

Guest

Why weren't the police called? Doesn't make sense. Seems a bit exaggerated.

View more comments (4)
sjb B
map-marker Mesa, Arizona

Easy Moving Labor - NOT EASY or DAMAGE FREE

THIS COMPANY RUINED ALMOST ALL OF OUR FURNITURE ON A RECENT MOVE. I URGE ANYONE CONSIDERING USING THEM TO FIND ANOTHER MOVER. The company specialized in providing professional movers to pack your rental truck or trailer. If moving long distance, another affiliate can unload the truck or trailer for you. On our move, the movers arrived late, did not follow the loading instructions provided by the trailer company at all and repeatedly told us 'they were professionals' when we questioned how items were loaded, padded (or more specifically NOT patted), or secured (again, more specifically NOT secured) and changed nothing that they were doing. These IDIOTS did not use moving pads on any of our oak furniture. They used shrink-wrap on leather furniture, which can remove the surface of the leather when it is removed. No pads were used on the leather furniture and we now have *** in our leather couch. They placed a very heavy chop saw, on top of an antique dresser (no pads) despite being questioned about the safety of the dresser since the marble top was off. The dresser was in pieces at the end of the move. They placed a lawn mower on top of a freezer - no pads. The freezer now has a huge gouge in it. A wood dresser was loaded upside down and then slid across the trailer floor. 9 out of 10 wood dining chairs have damage (gouges, deep scratches, chips). This list of damaged and severely damaged items goes on, and on. It is heartbreaking and extremely frustrating. Our furniture was not cheap and was well cared for – until this company got to it. They loaded boxes at the front of the trailer, then the heavy appliances and furniture (exactly backwards according the trailer company and other movers). These IDIOTS put a 70lb antique safe on top of a cardboard wardrobe box which naturally ripped and the safe went crashing through its contents. An oak dresser was loaded on its side with no pad underneath it. Over the course of the move, the vibration forced a small ball bearing that was on the floor, deep into the dresser. Boxes clearly labeled 'fragile' or 'do not crush' were all at the bottom of the stacks of boxes. We offered repeatedly to go out for more pads if they were needed - they said "˜no'. We should have fired them on the spot - but we used a large company to hire professionals - or so we thought. The experience was horrible. The loading of the truck was so bad, that many cubic feet of space were wasted. That caused us to be charged more for the trailer space and to abandon certain household goods that would not fit on the trailer. That adds additional cost to the move since those items will now have to be replaced. Note that not one item that we packed in the boxes (that the movers did not crush) was damaged. We packed just fine. The only items that were damaged in boxes were those that were crushed, or had another heavy item on top of the box, crash through it. The company's response to our complaint and claim for damages was to deny the claim because their laborers did not drop anything. They allege that we packed 2/3 of the trailer before they got there. Why in the world would we hire movers and pay them for a job we did ourselves? This was complete fabrication on their part. We took probably a hundred photos showing the damaged items, and grossly shifted load, as the trailer was unpacked. The photos document that the damage was due to the loading and securing of the truck - not the unloading. And the movers that unloaded the truck, signed a list of damaged items, verifying that they were damaged and were found in that condition in the trailer. An effort to appeal the claim met with no change except the addition of a very surly attitude from the company. And the company then alleging that we did not provide enough pads. Again a complete fabrication. There are no ethics evident at this company. Their "˜terms' do not come up on the contract – they are buried several pages deep into the web site. We almost couldn't find them later. The box to be checked about the "˜terms' is not where the actual terms are – meaning, you expect the terms to come up before your signature/purchase but they do not. A complaint was filed with the Better Business Bureau and has accomplished nothing. A complaint was sent to the trailer company to alert them to the situation since this was a recommended vendor. The trailer company at least is looking into the matter and may remove this vendor from their list of recommended companies. AVOID THIS COMPANY. You would do better to hire day laborers off the street, or use your friends, than you will with this company. We now have thousands of dollars' in damage that they refuse to address and which is not covered by homeowner's insurance since it was not caused by the trailer being in an accident.
View full review
2 comments
Guest

Moving Labor/Brokers do not provide furniture pads or packing materials? It is standard across the industry that these are services that come with an additional fee.

Shrink Wrap/Dollies/Tools are typically the most common "free services" provided. Furthermore, if all of this was happening, and your experience was so bad, why on earth would you just watch it happen? Something about your story seems fishy.

Also, why didn't you have your items properly wrapped/Packed if you cared so much about them???

Guest

i cant beleive you just stood and watched them doing all this to your stuff! Could you not speak to them?

Couldnt you tell them to leave? :zzz

View more comments (1)

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article