Trying to keep a website going with Datona is AWFUL! Anytime I asked questions I was given agressive and rude responses. Their system broke down over and over, and they changed sign in and control panel procedures without notification. Sign up with Datona if you do not value having an operating web site and you like to be treated like *** when you ask for help. I cannot stress enough just how careless and nasty this company is.....aka twooniehosting.ca. STAY CLEAR!!!! If you value the quality of your presence online, this is definitely not what you want. Trust me.
View full review
#451028 Review #451028 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Datona Commnications are a RIP OFF!

Do not deal with a company called Datona Communications They also go by the name of tooniehosting.ca The owner is Scott Broderick scott.broderick@***.com Datona Communications 20841 Dewdney Trunk Rd #11 Maple Ridge BC, V2X 3E7 Phone #: 604-463-**** Website #1: http://www.datona.com Website #2: http://www.tooniehosting.ca I signed up for a years worth of hosting with these guys and I emailed their sales department prior to hosting my anti-spam website with them and let them know that I had people who were stalking me and were not happy that I am listing certain legal documents and other information about them on my website. Also so you know a year was the shortest time you could get with them you could not go month by month with them or I would have. The original email was sent to them on May 9 2010 at about 11:00 AM I have removed my email addresses from this response to protect my identity. This was their response to me: Delivered-To: Received: by with SMTP id x1cs200462hbg; Sun, 9 May 2010 11:41:27 -0700 (PDT) Received: by with SMTP id f25mr182****rvb.248.127343****676; Sun, 09 May 2010 11:41:24 -0700 (PDT) Return-Path: Received: from srv01.datona-1.com (srv01.datona-1.com []) by mx.google.com with ESMTP id r23si914****rvq.26.2010.; Sun, 09 May 2010 11:41:24 -0700 (PDT) Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of admin@***.com) client-ip=; Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of admin@***.com) smtp.mail=admin@***.com X-ClientAddr: Received: from datona.com (localhost.localdomain []) by srv01.datona-1.com (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP id o49IfHV602****; Sun, 9 May 2010 11:41:17 -0700 Received: (from admin@***t) by datona.com (8.13.1/8.13.1/Submit) id o49IfHxa028110; Sun, 9 May 2010 11:41:17 -0700 Date: Sun, 9 May 2010 11:41:17 -0700 Message-Id: To: Subject: RE: TOONIEHOSTING.CA - NO SUBJECT MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1 From: Sales Department Return-Receipt-To: Sales Department X-DatonaCommunications-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information X-DatonaCommunications-MailScanner: Found to be clean X-MailScanner-From: admin@***.com Below is our reply: We belive in the freedom of speach. Unless we get served legal papers, we do not bother to do anything. From that link you provided, I can not see anything wrong with your site. If you signup with us, we can take a look at the site and if there are issues, we can issue you a refund and give you time to move the site to another provider but from what it sounds like, there should not be any issues. -------------------- Sales department http://www.tooniehosting.ca -------------------- So they claim that they believe in freedom of speech so I said great it doesn't look like I am going to have an issue with them boy was I wrong. the website did not contain any defamatory or libelous remarks or anything but did contain some legal documents about an individual and some Usenet newsgroups posts on a couple of other pages. There would be nothing there that violated any laws or any reason for have my site removed. I paid for a years worth of hosting to host my site there, the website was only up for about 10 days and then Scott decided to shut down the website. So I opened up a ticket about this asking for Scott to send me over a copy of the legal papers he was served because remember before they claim that they only shut people down if they get served legal papers. "Unless we get served legal papers, we do not bother to do anything." I still have not seen any legal papers or anything. Also in this reply they claim that if they had an issue with my site that they would give me time to find a new host and give me a refund. Neither of those were done. My site was just shut down and a refund was never issued. These guys are dishonest thieves who rip people off do NOT deal with Datona communications or Toonie Hosting! It is all run by the same guy. This was the response that I got back from them. Even though my site did not violate any part of the TOS. Here is a quote from part of the response from Datona hosting making threats towards me that if I fought the charges that they would then list me in their hosting providers blacklist and make all my information public. "On 2010-05-20 07:40:10, support wrote: In the end, all that will happen is you are placed onto a hosting providers blacklist which I am sure you do not want since you are attempting to keep your contact information invisible to the people out there you are offending. TOS: http://www.tooniehosting.ca/tos.php" I believe that he is talking about this page http://www.datona.com/blacklisted.php I sent an immediate reply back that they do not have permission to release any of my private information and that doing so would be a violation of my privacy and a violation under PIPEDA. So about one hour after that a post came though to the Usenet newsgroups with my name, address and phone number and other information that they think was correct. Lucky I didn't give them the right information about me. What Scott did was give another person who was harassing and stalking me the information. He released my information that was on my account to another individaul violating my privacy. Do not deal with this company they are horrible. They have no business ethics and will disclose your information on your account to the public. Beware of this company they are not good! To this day I still have yet to see any "legal papers" either even though I have asked them several times to send them to me. I don't believe there ever was a reason why on May 19 2010 my site got shut down. Nor have I ever been given a refund like they promised in the original email they sent me. These guys are really scummy don't deal with them they are not worth the time and you will just get ripped off by them.
View full review
1 comment

Buddy, you're nuts.

#183118 Review #183118 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Toronto, Ontario

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article