Arlington, Washington
7 comments
Not resolved

I have a large building and i painted over 5k square feet. It started falling off after i spent big bucks on the coatings. Peter Harrett, the active manager there asked me if i tested the moisture before painting it?

I didn't but a paint should still work shouldn't it?

Then he asked what i cleaned the floor with. My crew swept it. He said i should have washed it and used one of the cleaners he recommended. Now i am very upset, two things i didn't do.

Did i just lose my money not installing this product right? I am very upset. Peter is suppose to call me back. I picked up the paint two weeks ago. It was a nice plant, nice office waiting area and it all the people i meet seemed like good people. I just feel like i shouldn't tried to install this with our crew, either way it's a lot of money to lose.

Review about: Aquapoxy 2.

Review #268690 is a subjective opinion of a user.

PRODUCT OR SERVICE Not specified
Reason of Review / Monetary Loss Not specified / $8500
Preferred solution Not specified

Had an Experience with Top Secret Paint and Coatings?

Write a review

Comments

Comment as anonymous or
Terms of Service
Post Comment
Cancel
Greg
Farmington, Missouri, United States #912913

It's simple, read the directions on their website, on the cans, on everything they print. This is not the manufacturers fault or financial responsibility.

FloorGuru
#381909

I bought a complete mono epoxy kit from Top Secret Coatings, I followed the instructions perfectly.I washed the floor, made sure it was extemely clean, etched it, dried it, confirmed dryness, I put down the first coat and let it cure for 48 hours as per supplied instructions, I applied the clear coat and it did almost a curdling effect on the paint.

It looks horrible. The clear coat did not go on smooth and now you can see every roller mark in the floor. TSC has told me that I received old instructions and that the new instructions have different curing times. I am severly disappointed.

I asked for a refund and I received nothing. They offered to send new product and then never did. The thing is, this is their screw up not mine, I ended up having to put in new flooring at my expense to keep the project on schedule. I highly recommend NOT purchasing from this company.

To Top Secret Coatings STAND BEHIND THE PRODUCTS YOU SELL!!! I am in business too and when I have to cover mistakes like this it hurts my bottom line NOT YOURS.

And to top it all off, their 600sqft kit includes clearcoat that is rated for a max of 500sqft.It said so right on the can.

FloorGuru
#381907

I bought a complete mono epoxy kit from Top Secret Coatings, I followed the instructions perfectly.I washed the floor, made sure it was extemely clean, etched it, dried it, I put down the first coat and let it cure for 48 hours as per supplied instructions, I applied the clear coat and it did almost a curdling effect on the paint.

It looks horrible. The clear coat did not go on smooth and now you can see every roller mark in the floor. TSC has told me that I received old instructions and that the new instructions have different curing times. I am severly disappointed.

I asked for a refund and I received nothing. They offered to send new product and then never did. The thing is, this is their screw up not mine, I ended up having to put in new flooring at my expense to keep the project on schedule. I highly recommend NOT purchasing from this company.

To Top Secret Coatings STAND BEHIND THE PRODUCT YOUR SELL!!! I am in business too and when I have to cover mistakes like this it hurts my bottom line NOT YOURS.

And to top is all off, their 600sqft kit includes clearcoat that is rated for a max of 500sqft.It said so right on the can.

Duck Wiggins
#360330

8) I'm good thank you all.Hey thanks for stepping up and helping me fix it.

Really appreciate the help.

See soon, and the beer is on me afterwords.Thanks!

A floor coating issue
Fermont, Quebec, Canada #360321

I am sorry you had such a bad problem with your floor application.Grease and oil must be thoroughly removed before the application of any liquid applied floor coating!

I wish your crew had followed the advice we offered! Meanwhile this is a big job and we don't want anyone to have a bad experience so even though the floor wasn’t prepared properly and the coating was miss-applied we want to help as best we can. I suggest allowing us to replace the material for you at half price and let our people strip the floor to bare concrete, remove the grease and oil present, and redo it for you without any added cost. I hope that works for you.

Let me know ASAP.

Thank you.Peter Harrett, Top secret Coatings Inc..

Duck
#360264

I feel really bad now.I posted this and then talked to Ron, then Mike, then Peter.

All of them were very nice. I understand i messed up the job. Peter is sending a crew to come out and redo the job i messed up for cost. :) The thing is my original bids were far more than what this is costing me so i am very happy.

They stepped up, and are doing what is right to make this right. This is a good company. They do floor coating installations for about 1.00/sqft per coat which is excellent for floors over 10k square feet anywhere in the country.

Thanks you guys!!!:)

TheHagglinHag
to Duck Atlanta, Georgia, United States #954053

People get screwed all time, but I gotta tell ya, to see you acknowledge that this company is really trying to help you even after all you've been through, makes you of a giant person in my book.....with a conscience.

I came to this forum because I'm looking for paint to customize bird baths with.

You may have just sold this company a new business account.Anyway, in case no one else has told, thank you for handling your situation with honesty and integrity.

You May Also Like

Behr - Paint is peeling off my deck & looks disgusting very upset took a long time to do Behr "I cleaned the decks with cleaner waited 48 hours then swept the deck before painting. The decks were painted one coat let dry over night then 2nd coat applied, one..." Read more Masonite - Cheap Veneer on Bi-fold closet doors Masonite "I purchased 4 of these doors off the shelf at Home Depot. I pulled product that still was completely sealed in the factory packaging. I rejected several of the stock..." Read more Congoleum - Making Repairs after 8 years of Disgust Congoleum "Installed spring 2008. Looked great as I expected. No problems with installers. Within months noticed a gouge from a dropped cooking utensil. Obviously not a good thing for any floor..." Read more Rodney Dean The Fence Man_ Don't say I didn't warn you Rodney Dean The Fence Man " When I contracted with Rodney Dean The Fence man, there were 2 requirements to the install. First, I wanted the top rail of the fence lined up to the..." Read more Fidelity National Home Warranty - Emergencies don't exist with Fidelity.. They admitted to shortage of Technicians in Sacramento Fidelity National Home Warranty "VERY DISHONEST COMPANY. I had an emergency at my property because the first technician knew the drainage pipe was clogged on HVAC unit on a initial service call that he..." Read more eHomes of Bakersfield - Beware eHomes of Bakersfield "Sent to collections for unpaid rent due to water heater issues. Heater went out 3 times in 3 years..12 days total without hot water. Ehomes could care less...finally had to..." Read more Carid - RIP OFF ALERT Carid "CARid...AKA...ONYX....RIP OFF ALERT...... CARiD...AKA ONYX DO NOT BUY HERE... CARiD...AKA ONYX... I bought A woodgrain dash cover set for 2016 express van. 300+ dollars 8 pieces. Dash cover fit not..." Read more Ramada Worldwide - 6 hours of sleep in 2 days Ramada Worldwide "We stayed 2 nights. The first night we were located right around the corner from the pool. 10pm is the pool's closing time but there was still a group of..." Read more