Southern Motion Furniture - Review about Leather Sectional from Chattanooga, Tennessee

236 of 261 Southern Motion Furniture reviews

Bought a leather sectional 5 years ago.After 2 yrs the leather started peeling.

Now the entire sectional is peeling.Paid over $1800 for this and am highly disappointed.

This review is a subjective opinion of a user.
Report Comment Private message author

More Review Details

Product or service
Leather Sectional
Review category
Furniture and Decor
review #531313

Author wants to be contacted by the company. Learn more

Had an experience with Southern Motion Furniture? Submit review ›
Helpful? 8 Yes 8 2 No 2
Had the same issue 15 Yes 15
236 of 261 Southern Motion Furniture reviews
Anonymous

Jan 07 #1267408 Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

FYI that's not leather that's bonded leather which is basically vinyl

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Jul 04, 2016 #1181035 Brooklyn, New York, United States

Fat people do that to cheap leather. Cut your own hide and use that if you want real leather.

0 2 Reply
Anonymous

Mar 24, 2016 #1133220

That is Bonded Leather not real 100% leather, Ashley furniture calls some of theirs DuraBlend.

1 0 Reply
Anonymous

Nov 13, 2015 #1063358

What did you use to clean this it's a bonded leather learn how to take care of something before you go at it with harsh chemical

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Apr 18, 2015 #973691 Brentwood, Tennessee, United States

This is china made. Been in furniture for nearly 16 years and everything is going to china or Mexico so your better off buying 5 gallon buckets to sit on they will last longer and u can re- paint them to match

3 1 Reply
Anonymous

Dec 17, 2014 #917413 Tallahassee, Florida, United States

Good grief!! Where did you buy this?? It doesn't matter if it's not real leather!! This should not happen after 2 years!! You might as well have thrown your $1800.00 down the toilet!! I have friends that have bought bonded leather living room sets and they are still beautiful after 7-8 years!! That really sucks : (!

2 1 Reply
Scott

Sep 24, 2014 #874690

Sorry, but that isn't leather. Leather doesn't peal and flake off, it's a solid piece of skin (with the exception of maybe a protective coating applied to the leather). What you likely have is bonded leather, which is only about 17% ground up leather that's mixed with plastics and dies and painted onto a cloth backing. Eventually it begins to break down and seperate from the backing.
How many cows have you seen with their skin peeling and flaking off?

4 0 Reply
Anonymous

May 30, 2015 #989771

The problem is that stores don't tell you it's not real leather. They, in fact, claim that it is. So unless you're a furniture expert, you will get swindled every time.

3 0 Reply
Anonymous

Sep 04, 2015 #1029586

Not so. I did lots of research before purchasing my top grain leather furniture by Southern Motion. Granted, many salesmen tried to push the bonded leather, but I had read enough issues that I wasn't going to risk it. I did have to walk out of one store because he wouldn't stop pushing bonded leather after I told him it was top grain leather only that I was interested in. They do try to convince you that bonded is just as good, but it isn't. And it isn't Southern Motions fault- it's the store that sold it to you.

1 0 Reply
Great comment! Would you like to convert it into review?

You will be able to edit the text before publishing.

 
×
You were reading a complaint about Southern Motion Furniture.
Filing a new complaint about
×