Prey on those who know no better AVOID AT ALL COSTS

So my [lack of] experience with Asian Sun "martial arts" from yesterday. I've met a few people from Asian sun and their content and attitudes seemed off to me for martial artists. They have also never been in any of the open tournaments or events I've attended, despite having like 10 schools in the area. I've had a curiosity to see if they just do things radically different or if I've just met the wrong students. Yesterday my dojo had a snow day (if the local school closes they do too). So I decided since there is an Asian sun not far from my work to call and see if I can crash a class. I call in and am directed to a headquarters/call center instead of an individual branch. I explain to the lady that I am actively training in Tai chi and kung *** and am interested in attending a class at Asian sun just for exposure to taekwondo. They refuse to allow me to attend a single class until I have an intro class (1 on 1 with an instructor to learn just the basics). This woman clearly does not understand anything about martial arts as she keeps insisting I do not know any of the basics despite the fact I have made it clear I am an experienced martial artist. If you are not in the martial arts world this may not seem peculiar to you but in my time as a martial artist (child and adult) I've visited over 10 schools and a variety of styles. NEVER have I been denied a full demo class with the students. I believe many dojo's/school's/academy's allow this because it's a learning experience for the visitor as well as their own students. Seeing different interpretations of similar techniques as well as the possibility to spar something new and different. There is a lot to lean from exposure to other styles. I could even understand a school charging me for just a drop in class when I have no intention on training there permanently. If I'm seeking out a schools services for exposure, they have every right to charge me for engaging their services. Most don't but they would have every logical reason to do it. The emphasis on denying a visitor a proper sample lesson indicates to me they don't want their students seeing the outside world of martial arts for some reason or another. My Sifu has never denied a student sample classes for exposure and never told me I couldn't go to a (or withheld information about a) tournament or visit another school. He has always been encouraging of me but also advising in terms of what events I am and am not ready for. Part of my confidence in what I know is that my school is open to visitors and that I've trained with others in different styles. I'm far from the best but I know where I stack up. In my conclusion I am not going to the students or the individual instructors BUT I am going to judge the institution. As an institution they are not confident in the caliber of their training. They don't want anything challenging THEIR ways of doing things. I actually feel sorry for the students in their institution who are NOT getting these opportunities of exposure to other disciplines and ideas. What has made me an effective martial artist is my cross training which started with taekwondo as a child and has evolved into Kung *** and Tai Chi. My exposure other styles has made me a more competent fighter. I FIRMLY ADVISE AVOIDING ASIAN SUN LIKE ITS THE PLAGUE BECAUSE THEY DON'T STAND BEHIND THEIR QUALITY.
View full review
ID
#1165667 Review #1165667 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Asian Sun Is Amazing

Yeah i have no idea what all these other crazy people are commenting about, but i go to the Brecksville training center and have a blast while learning valuable life lessons and skills. All of the asian sun masters and instructors i have met so far are exceptionally professional and are incredibly knowledgeable and talented, i could not have made a better decision in my life to build self confidence and help manage my stress. I encourage anyone that is thinking about taking up such a journey to do so as you will grow physically and spiritually on your quest to master control over your body and learn self discipline. Happy Hunting!
View full review
ID
#729218 Review #729218 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service
New Reviewer

Dont let your wife go there!

My wife went to the portage lake asian sun and the head instructer started hitting on her even though he was married and his wife worked there.he kept calling my wife when i was at work asking her to go out and offering her private lessons. i found outone day when i didnt go to work and picked up the phone on them. then when i confronted him he said if i told his wife he was going to beat my ***. so dont let your wife or young daughter go there. i heard that he does this with other woman who attend his classes.
View full review
4 comments
#971859

Please amend your review. This business is not Asian Sun Inc., the name of the school you are referring to is the Ohio Academy of Martial Arts, not Asian Sun.

#954150

Portage Lakes is not a Asian Sun school.

#945776

That IS NOT an Asian Sun affiliate, it is called Ohio Acadamy Of Martial Arts as of February 2014.

#929015

This sounds like the issue is with your wife and the instructor. Unless you contacted his supervisor and the was insufficient follow up, it is unfair and unhelpful to post a bad review against his employer.

View more comments (3)
ID
#576541 Review #576541 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Akron, Ohio
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
get rid of steve m.

Very poor and unqualified Martial Arts and Aerobics instructors. Overcharged for services.

They're all about making money and not about training. Once you sign for lessons, you're stuck. The people that perform the training don't care whether or not your kids learn anything. Instructors are very poorly skilled and don't understand the martial arts themselves. I signed up for their aerobics classes which was a mistake. The instructor is an arrogant woman that does nothing but scream at the top of her lungs. There's no skill involved and she is not professionally trained in any sport, just another person soaking the public for their money. They try to force you into buying annual memberships and mistreat anyone that doesn't buy into training. We finally walked away and joined a professional, national chain. I forgot to state that this review was specifically referring to the Hudson, Ohio store. I tried the same services at their Fairlawn, Ohio and Aurora, Ohio stores, too, but the service was the same, very poor. They aren't the only company around with these services, so try others before signing anything. The girls working the front desk are paid on commission and quote wildly different prices, varying by a few thousand dollars, depending on what they think they can get out of you. We were grossly overcharged by their billing service, too.
View full review
3 comments
#929018

The review is dated 2013, not 2004.

The Wadsworth location has excellent and knowing teachers. I see the same two men working every day they are open.

One is a Master and the other advanced black belt (not sure how high). Every time I see them interact it is with kindness and courtesy. They are both exceptional with the kids. You can see their love of the art.

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I don't see where you contacted the office to complain and what the response was.

It seems only competent to start at the source rather than an innocuous website. Asian Sun has THREE complaints and that says a lot.

#753212

We are terribly sorry for any miscommunication or bad experience you had with Asian Sun. Is it possible you are commenting on another school?

I noticed your comment is listed as 2004. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of this post until recently. A major concern that we have about your post is that in 2004, when this complaint was made, we did not have either a Aurora or Fairlawn. Both of those school were not open until 2012.The Hudson Cardio Kickboxing instructor you may be referencing is a 2nd degree Black Belt in Muay Thai Kickboxing from Master Bob Cheney, one of the most respected in the nation.

Our head instructor in 2004 was Master Andrachik, the owner and a 7th degree Black Belt recognized by USAT and Kukkiwon. The current head instructor is ranked 3rd in the Nation USAT and is the training partner of an Olympic hopeful. You may not know but Asian Sun is a annual national presence in USAT and AAU of which we are the regional chair. Schools with "poor instruction" do not produce national champions at the highest level of completion.

Poor head instructors are not going to the 2014 USA Team Trials in Colorado Springs.We did not and still do not offer annual memberships. If there was anything then or now that we can do to make it right please contact 330-650-**** and we will make it right. Because there are no "National Chains" in NE Ohio I would be happy to discuss with you the specifics of your complaint. What concerns us is the factual accuracy of your complaint.

It is a serious offense to post untruthful comments against a business whether you meant to or not. I assure you, and any of our more than 3,000 happy students will maintain, we strive to go above and beyond.Thank you and again, please call anytime.-- Steve SeyerleGeneral ManagerAsian Sun Martial Arts(330) 666-**** officewww.asiansun.net

#725236

Seriously it's like they have no respect for us customers STAY WELL AWAY FROM THIS MARTIAL ARTS SERVICE!

View more comments (2)
ID
#450960 Review #450960 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hudson, Ohio
Loss
$4700
New Reviewer

Asian Sun Training Center Akron/liars

I singed my kids up for karate.Of course he left out the most important thing that it is like he gave me a loan and I own him.My kids changed their mind,I can not cancel it ,he did not tell me about the extra fees I have to pay for belt testing.What does karate lessons men without different belts and new lessons .Training is very poor,that is soft word for that.Just sucks .Now I own them but have not received any more services.I found out under the credit loop there is, any fitness,training, can do that.Just what a scams.They dint tell you how many days you have to cancel it unless your "child dies or get so disabled that can not perform,or move25 miles away from current address".I wish somebody get this cheep bastards.
View full review
6 comments
#929022

The contract clearly states everything you are complaining about. Its no wonder you're upset.

It seems you are unable to read or write coherently. Asian Sun offers taekwondo, not karate, and you get what you put in. The instructors have all gone through the ranks themselves and are highly skilled.

The other two comments are also reviews and the one guy is in serious denial about his wife. Quit complaining online and go hire a good divorce attorney.

#1764284
@PissedConsumer929022

Nick, you clearly work for Asian sun. Night night doi

#725214

They're all about making money and not about training. Once you sign for lessons, you're stuck.

The people that perform the training don't care whether or not your kids learn anything. Instructors are very poorly skilled and don't understand the martial arts themselves. I signed up for their aerobics classes which was a mistake. The instructor is an arrogant woman that does nothing but scream at the top of her lungs.

There's no skill involved and she is not professionally trained in any sport, just another person soaking the public for their money.

They try to force you into buying annual memberships and mistreat anyone that doesn't buy into training. We finally walked away and joined a professional, national chain.

#725221
@PissedConsumer725214

I forgot to state that this review was specifically referring to the Hudson, Ohio store. I tried the same services at their Fairlawn, Ohio and Aurora, Ohio stores, too, but the service was the same, very poor.

They aren't the only company around with these services, so try others before signing anything. The girls working the front desk are paid on commission and quote wildly different prices, varying by a few thousand dollars, depending on what they think they can get out of you.

We were grossly overcharged by their third party billing service and they claimed they could not take care of the problem as billing was out of their control. As I left with my children, one of the workers laughed and said, so what, sue us.

#923338
@PissedConsumer725221

the instructor at the portage lakes place tried to screw my wife.kept hitting on her and calling are home!

#929026
@Nayana Uww

Yeah, your poor, innocent wife. You stated in your review that you caught them on the phone together.

So she was the victim? Wake up, pal. You are the victim.

Get a divorce attorney then some counseling because she has you pissed off and angry at the wrong people. I don't even know you but you deserve better.

View more comments (5)
ID
#196440 Review #196440 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Abilene, Texas
Loss
$6

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article