Angela P Hlf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Hollywood, Florida

Good quality work.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
American Epoxy Systems - Good quality work.
Updated by user Mar 09, 2020

They where reasonable on price and I had other bids.

Original review Mar 09, 2020
This company did a good job they arrived on time and finished my project to my liking. Had no issues with the installed floor or the materials used. Made my garage looks wonderful. Check out the photo.
View full review
Pros:
  • Great colors
  • Perfect finish
  • Came on time and finished on schedule

User's recommendation: Make sure your take there advice and recommendations for care

Anonymous
map-marker Boca Raton, Florida

Wonderful

Nice people from the get go Jason was superior and Bobby so polite and helpful. Our floors are beautiful. Just got them done.
View full review
Reason of review:
Good customer service
Anonymous
map-marker Fort Lauderdale, Florida

DO NOT WORK WITH THESE PEOPLE Poor quality of work and material

As the other review already stated poor work quality and no follow up what soever. After promising the world and complying with all we needed to have done in our new workshop we found some deficiencies which were going to be addressed according to the owner David Bowman. Wel never heard from this guy anymore phone calls emails all dead ends. Do not work with these guys and if you still want them to do something never pay more the 1/3 in front so you can keep your money in the pocket after you concluded that the work is below any standards.
View full review
Loss:
$35000
Reason of review:
Poor quality, no customer service, damaged defective floor
Minahil Gso
map-marker Miramar, Florida

Poor workmanship/Flooring

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 18, 2015

Had contacted a law firm to sue, only to find out that the registered docs we sent to American Epoxy were not received. This seems to be the way they handle things.

We have been contacted by another customer of American Epoxy only to find out they are experiencing they same treatment, we discussed going to the Home Shows that they do and passing out our detailed information and pictures of the poor workmanship to their potential customers in order cause them to lose business.

Original review Oct 18, 2015
These guys are some of the biggest cheats and liars I have every done business with. They will tell you everything you want to hear and follow through on none of it. They will be up front with taking your money and delivering poorly at best. They showed up unprepared, unprofessional, took longer than promised, did poor work, terrible follow up and will not honor their warranty. When talk of a partial refund was agreed upon they continually put me off and went silent altogether. Any positive reviews they receive I'm sure were written by themselves or their mothers. These are the type of business that give South Florida a bad name.
View full review
Loss:
$4600
Cons:
  • That they agreed to a partial refund and will not pay up
Reason of review:
Damaged or defective

Preferred solution: Price reduction

1 comment
Guest

Still no response from these losers - they are only around when its time to collect -

Minahil Gso
map-marker Hollywood, Florida

American Epoxy still waiting for issue to be resolved since Oct 2014

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Issue not resolved. Dan Bowman of American Epoxy said we would have a check within 30 days from the corporate office. This was April 20, 2015. We did not receive the check by May 20, 2015. He said it must be lost and they would send another one. It is now another month June 20th, 2015. We have been trying to get our issue resolved now since October 31, 2014. We cannot find a corporate office - we can only find two LLCs both with Dan Bowman's name on them. We still cannot get in touch with him after his promised refund. If anyone can help. Please call Jeff Moore 520-981-**** AMERICAN EPOXY SYSTEMS LLC There are 2 companies that go by the name of American Epoxy Systems LLC. These companies are located in Birmingham MI, Fort Lauderdale FL, andSterling Hgts MI.AMERICAN EPOXY SYSTEMS LLCFLORIDA DOMESTIC LIMITED-LIABILITY COMPANYAddress: 37132 Tericrest DrSterling Hgts 48310Registered Agent: Bowman DanFiling Date: August 24, 2010File Number: L100******** AMERICAN EPOXY SYSTEMS, LLCMICHIGAN DOMESTIC LIMITED-LIABILITY COMPANYAddress: 967 RuffnerBirmingham, MI 48009Registered Agent: Daniel BowmanFiling Date: March 16, 2007File Number: D1597D
View full review
Loss:
$4600
Cons:
  • Waiting 10 months for refund
  • Told check lost 2 months ago
  • Product is defective no service
Reason of review:
Bad defective service, no customer service, said check is in the mail two months ago. Bad quality of floor bubbles and craters.

Preferred solution: Full refund

Dacoda Zcd
map-marker Hollywood, Florida

The Epoxy floor American Epoxy installed is sinking, bubbles and craters and we cannot get a response from the owner Dan Bowman since October 2014 Please help!

Updated by user Oct 19, 2015

It has now been ONE YEAR since American Epoxy Systems and Dan Bowman the president has promised to fix our floors. Since they could not fix the floors Dan Bowman promised in writing to refund our money in March.

For 10 months he has said the check is in the mail and that he will pay us but he never shows up. We had to hire a law firm but they could not track him down to have him accept the certified letters that they sent to him. We went to Small Claims court in Ft Lauderdale and they have to send out a deputy or process server at 40.00 per time to get him to appear in court but they have been unable to find him.

We have spoken to other customers of his who are experiences the exact same thing. He promises to show up and fix the work but always has an excuse and never shows up, never fixes the work, never responds to calls or emails and never refunds the money that he promises even though he advertises a 2 year guarantee on the website!!

Original review Apr 20, 2015
We have had the exact same issues starting from when the epoxy was put down on our floor in October 2014. We had to move out for 5 days not the 3 promised. We had to pay for movers to move everything in and out of our house - we were promised that American Epoxy would move the items. We have bugs in it, bubbles and craters everywhere, and it is sinking. We have been calling and writing Dan the owner for months and no response. We have gone to his office 4 times and have left messages at the office but he is never there. Please help. We have paid in full $4600. and don't know what to do. Any help please email us at smooothsailingdc@***.com.
View full review
Loss:
$4600
Reason of review:
owner refused to respond us to correct our floor after we paid him 4600.00 and our floor is ruined and not as advertised.

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Miramar, Florida

Total Disaster

I found them at the Miami Home Show and the product looks nice. so we gave it a shot. Since day one it started to go wrong, they did not come on time, did a rush job ( because they have others to go to) my floor was leveled and now its not. the color does not match the one we picked and it has several on the floor it self. The finish feeling of the epoxy it self is nice, but then they roled on a clear coat and it bobbled. at the end it sucks. the told me it would be done in 3 day ( it was 5). the product when properly installed could be excellent, but the company is very bad.
View full review
Loss:
$2500
Reason of review:
Bad quality
1 comment
Guest

We used American Epoxy to do our interior floor in our condo. Not only did they do an amazing job, but they offered to move our furniture out for free.

Since then we are extremely happy with the results and highly recommend Dan and company.

I believe the few negative reviews on here are clearly from customers who don't understand what epoxy is and how the finished product should look.

Regards,

Lisa Silberman

Dezaree Syh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Sweetwater, Florida

American Epoxy Systems - Shameful Service

This Company applied an epoxy material in the floor of my house. The result was terrible and the details a mess. My floor is ruin, my walls stained and the ¨owner¨of the Company didn´t answer my phone calls. I paid in full and nobody respond my complains. I lost my money (more than $2,000) and my house is a mess. This Company is based on Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The Epoxy Coating is supposed to look like a concrete floor and they show many photographs in their website that offer a good looking product. Everything is a trick. The sales person never answer her phone again. The same with the person that said is the owner.
View full review
Loss:
$2200
2 comments
Guest

We have been promised a refund for 4 months and the owner keeps putting us off and saying he will get us a check . We have been trying since October 2014 to get our floor fixed and dan bowman agreed to refund half our money but will not respond back to us

Minahil Gso

Did you ever get any help? If so how? We are heartbroken over our ruined floor and loss of money - almost 5000.00

Any suggestions please call jeff moore 520-981-**** or email smoothsailingjeff@***.com

View more comments (1)

Construction and Repair Expert Talks

How to Hire The Right Contractor And Not Be Scammed

Apr 16, 2021

Matt DiBarra, an expert home builder with Dibara Masonry, gives tips on how to build a house, find and hire the right contractor, and avoid home construction scams.

Read full article
Matt DiBarra
Matt DiBarra

Matt DiBarra is well-known as The Undercover Contractor. He is the owner of DiBara Masonry company in Los Angeles that specializes in house repairs, restorations, and new installations.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article