Peter K Rlx

Extremely Dis-Satisfied!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Jul 27, 2018

July 27, 2018 See below e-mail from Absolute Awnings. I have not yet received AMEX credit for the deposit ($1,320, 1/2 of total + the extra $50 they charged for what I have no idea and have never been told WHY they added $50!).

AMEX customer service told me they have contacted them and await a response! So NO AMEX credit yet received. ------------------- From: Absolute Awnings Date: Mon, Jul 23, 2018 at 11:54 AM Subject: Re: Peter Klein - Follow-Up To: Peter Klein Peter I believe we were not asked to authorize anything, but we were simply notified of a charge back already initiated by you. As agreed, we did not dispute nor oppose this charge back.

You are welcome to quote this email to the card company or have them verify with us. I believe the process is slow, but it is not controlled by us since we did not initiate it. Regards Charles ext.

101 Sales & Technical Supportp ------------------- On Mon, Jul 23, 2018 at 11:14 AM, Peter Klein wrote Asbolute Awnings: Why has the $1,470.00 deposit, agreed to be returned, not been authorized as a credit yet by AA to AMEX? Peter Klein

Updated by user Jul 27, 2018

July 27, 2017 Absolute Awnings agreed, after I contacted them again, to RETURN my $1,370 DEPOSIT ($1,320 agreed-to on signed contract, 1/2 of total... still do not after asking WHY they added additional $50 when charged my AMEX card for the 'deposit'!) via AMEX.

AMEX said they would contact them per AMEX policy to get their approval to delete this $1,370 charge on my AMEX account. To date the charge remains, not yet credited by AMEX. Absolute Awnings sent me the below email confirming the agreed to the credit but said they have yet to me asked by AMEX to authorize it (AMEX customer service told me they did contact them and await a response): From: Absolute Awnings Date: Mon, Jul 23, 2018 at 11:54 AM Subject: Re: Peter Klein - Follow-Up (Purchase, NY) To: Peter Klein Peter I believe we were not asked to authorize anything, but we were simply notified of a charge back already initiated by you. As agreed, we did not dispute nor oppose this charge back.

You are welcome to quote this email to the card company or have them verify with us. I believe the process is slow, but it is not controlled by us since we did not initiate it.

Regards Charles ext. 101 Sales & Technical Supportp

Original review Jun 27, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 We gave them the order to replace fabric awning (not hardware, already installed and working fine). They were $500 MORE than the 2nd bidder, who had excellent references from 5 of 8 neighbors in nearby homes, but we decided on Absolute Awnings given the instal timing. 1st install came about 2 weeks after we anticipated and the fabric was CUT WRONG! Today, 2.5 weeks later, the installers arrived again ... and the fabric is 4" too wide. I cancelled the order today UNLESS the awning is re-cut and installed by 5PM Monday, 5 days from now (counting the weekend), and I am having my attorney handle the return of the 50% deposit paid upfront assuming it is not done correctly by late Monday... since I was told by the owner, Charles, they "do not return money"! WHATEVER YOU DO... go with another vendor! My son in law has 3.5 million internet followers (he is an icon in the digital/social media world and paid to speak globally), and said he looks forward starting Tuesday to communicating to his followers (who communicate to their followers, etc.!) about this 'vendor who over-promises and under-delivers'.
View full review
  • Did not do what they said they would do
Reason of review:
0-for-2 on installs; mis-cut fabric both times: UNACCEPTABLE

Preferred solution: Full refund

map-marker Estero, Florida


My experience with Absolute Awning has been the very worst in my career as an interior designer for 30 years. Charles is a total scammer and shady. I am mad at myself for not catching this transaction before winding up with a 50% deposit and no shade! The installer is from Cape Coral and an absolutely does not know what he is doing. He only works on Saturdays! Kenny has no idea how to coordinate an electrician to hook up a plug for the remote to work. He promised to coordinate this and in fact I cannot use my shade at all in the spot the installer agreed it to go! I am forced to pay for the whole thing, no install at all and try to sell it for pennies on the dollar on Craig's List. These guys are selling powered and remote shades with no power hook up. They test it on site with an extension cord and leave you to figure out how to power it. DO NOT ENGAGE THESE SCAMMERS.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Peter K Rlx



The truth is that the HOA DID NOT APPROVE the project as the CLIENT ASSUMED they would. We had no direct contact with the HOA.

We simply received this info from the client.

We did not contract to install an outlet. We simply stated that we would co-ordinate our schedule with an electrician, to be hired by the client. At the time our only open slot was on a Saturday. We typically work 5 - 6 days a week.

We did offer to proceed and power the awning from an extension cord as a temporary measure until her electrician arrived.

In stead, the CLIENT, decided to ABORT the project and asked that we deliver the awning, because she had a buyer for it. We can provide full email records and our written agreement of this matter.

View more comments (1)
map-marker Flagstaff, Arizona

Improper Installation Resulting in Catastrophic Failure

Absolute Awnings failed to properly supervise their subcontractors and didn't pay them on a timely basis resulting in delayed service and catastrophic failure of my awning. They are calling it wind damage and refuse to replace the material. They have asked me to pay 50% of the cost of replacement. Absolute Awnings refuses to identify where their main office is located and who the mysterious 'Charles' really is. Their website provides no information about their whereabouts. Calling any number listed for their 'branch' offices leads you right back to 'Charles'. Again, there are no addresses listed for the branch offices. This is very suspicious and leads me to recommend no one should do business with this organization.
View full review
Peter K Rlx

100% AGREE.AND... the BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU will not give them a rating!


The CLIENT FAILS TO REVEAL that we ONLY REPLACED FABRIC on his 20 YEAR OLD old awning frame which was NOT INSTALLED BY US. Brand new fabric do not just spontaneously tear.

We had 3 independent awning professionals confirm the cause of failure to be wind.

Even though our warranty does not cover wind damage, we offered to accommodate the client with a 50% discount. The remaining allegations are a smoke screen since we do pay our installers and our address is on our agreement, which was signed by the client.


I have the same problem in my state. I have researched the company and found that Charles Lewis and Absolute Awnings does NOT have a contractor's or business license in my state.

I have filed a claim against the company with the State Contractor's Board.

I suggest that you look into the business and contractor's license in your state.


The client is attempting to shift attention away from the key issue with nonsense about paying of staff etc. while omitting critical facts.

a) We only replaced the fabric on his existing frame of about 15 years old.

b) He admitted, per email, that the awning was out and unattended on a windy day.

c) Weather data shows significant gusts on the day of failure.

d) THREE independent experts confirmed that damage was caused by wind.

- one expert was a competitor called by the client - one expert was the dealer who sold the original awning 15 years ago - one expert was from our company Our awnings are well built and can handle moderate wind, but are not intended for stormy or gusty weather. We will be happy to provide documentation of all the above.

View more comments (3)
Lesly Cmd
map-marker Aurora, Illinois

$3,000 awning that provides no shade after 2:00 p.m.

Updated by user Jul 24, 2013

In response to the comments below from the company, the tip identified previously would be very helpful to provide potential customers prior to purchase, especially in my case as I expressed that my only interest in purchasing the product was to obtain the most amount of shade possible. Consulting regarding the movement of the sun and shade seems like a service that should be offered to potential customers who are buying a product that provides shade to insure they are purchasing the right solution for their needs.

At no time during the purchasing or installation process was my expectation of ample shade described to be "unrealistic" to me by the company. I even shared with the salesperson that my previous home had a pergola over the patio and it didn't provide enough shade, thus my interest in a different option.

I would like to reiterate that I was assured that the size and style of the awning I purchased would suit my needs. It does not.

Original review Jul 17, 2013
I recently purchased a motorized retractable awning from Absolute Awnings. The purchase and installation process were excellent. The product itself is excellent (very well made, functions properly, looks nice). However, due to the location of my home and where the awning is located, I receive almost no benefit from the product during the sunniest and hottest portion of the day. The installer seemed to have many years of experience and should have known that my patio would virtually be in direct sun starting in the early afternoon, and he should have guided me to another solution. I asked his opinion on the size and placement and he assured me it would work just fine. The company offered to change the slope for a service fee of $100. This was not an inexpensive product ($3,000), and now it is mounted permanently to my townhome leaving me with virtually no remedy and no assistance from Absolute Awnings.
View full review

Even ample shade moves when the sun moves.

Furthermore there is no definition for "ample".

The shade is the same size as the awning.

The client decided how big they want it to be.

Any reasonable client knows this just through common sense and unrealistic expectations should not be blamed on a fully functional the product.


All awnings have shade directly below them ONLY AT MIDDAY and displaced shade to some degree in the early mornings and late afternoons.

We meet most clients in the evening and therefor do not consult regarding the movement of the sun and shade. The slope of our all our awnings can adjust and this was offered to the client as a perfectly feasible solution.

This client did NOT LOSE ANY MONEY, but merely had an unrealistic expectation that the shade would somehow not move.

A good tip for prospective awning buyers is to hold up a broom (where the edge of the awning would be)to see exactly how the shade would move along at various times of the day.

View more comments (1)
map-marker Hurricane, Utah

Absolute Awnings

The ABSOLUTE worst customer service in the world - these people are completly unprofessional and will *** the first chace they get. The owner is Charles - he's British or something....and a terrible on any kind of follow through. The installer, Mike, is a complete *** - never shows up when he's suppose to, and does terrible work. You would be better off buyin an awning fron China and having a monkey install would certain have better results. Absolute Awnings is an ABSOLUTE disaster and should not be allowed to do business in the Phoenix area ever.
View full review

I have the same problem. I found that Charles and Absolute Awnings does not have a business or contractor's license in my state.

You might want to contact your state licensing board to file a complaint.


Only after HIS OWN credit card company ARBITRATED AGAINST HIM and rejected his request for a charge back, did the client post this vindictive and factually irrelevant review.

We will be FULLY TRANSPARENT and will reveal all documents regarding this matter by email to any client concerned about doing business with us.

Below is a snippet of what we went through. As a courtesy, we are shielding the identity of the client from the self-degrading nature of his communication.

" This is crazy...I seldom write checks and never balance my checking - I just assumed the check had been cashed and now you're telling me I still owe money which I don't have in my account!

I don't even know the check number I wrote looking at my account, there are 4 missing checks - because sometimes I mess up a check - then I just tear it up and write another one. So that means I would have to stop payment on 4 checks at $40.00 a pop.

Mr. ******

Either there was a check written to us that cleared to our account or there was not.

Our records indicate no check from you was received. If you have such a cleared check then we are wrong and if you do not, then we need payment.

We cannot account for the fact that 4 checks from your account are without record. This may very well contribute to the fact that you think we have been paid while we have no record of receiving payment.

Please inspect your account and contact us regarding payment or proof of completed payment, whichever one it is.


View more comments (1)

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article